the delphic expanse

Action scenes workshop?

Here's general open information about the writing workshops we offer here. You can announce your intention to workshop a fic or open a for everyone's eyes discussion. Fics are workshopped in the private workshop forum. You can also look for a beta reader and discuss betaing issues here.

Action scenes workshop?

Postby THE Rigil Kent » Tue Dec 28, 2010 10:24 am

Has anyone toyed with the idea of doing something like this? For the most part, I'm generally satisfied with the action scenes in my fics, but I often see people saying they can't write them or just won't write them, so ... here I am.
None of us are virgins; life has screwed us all. -

Sig by Chrisis1033.

THE Rigil Kent
Lt. Commander

Re: Action scenes workshop?

Postby panyasan » Tue Dec 28, 2010 10:41 am

I tried to write a battle scene in one of my fic'sand it turned out okay. There is still lot's of room for improvement. I have to confess before writing that scene I studied two action scenes of your hand Rigil, so if you wanted to give a work shop "How to write action scenes" I will be the first one to sign up.
panyasan
Commander

Postby Aquarius » Tue Dec 28, 2010 11:05 am

If you conduct it, I'm in.
Aquarius
Site Admin

Postby Misplaced » Tue Dec 28, 2010 11:09 am

I'm interested! Especially considering that my original work contains a LOT of action (way more than my fanfic), it would behoove me to be good at writing it. :lol:
Misplaced

Postby ladyrainbow » Tue Dec 28, 2010 11:11 am

Me...I tend to have battle scenes in some of my fics (space battles or hand to hand).
ladyrainbow
Commander

Postby Destinye » Tue Dec 28, 2010 11:17 am

I'd be interested. I usually fail at action scenes. I go over-the-top or don't describe enough, xD
{You're good at fixing things, I'm good at blowing them up}; Lieutenant Reed
Destinye
Commander

Postby THE Rigil Kent » Tue Dec 28, 2010 11:29 am

Gak! Am I gonna regret posting? :lol: