Reviews For World of Ice
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: Dinah Signed [Report This]
Date: July 23, 2016 10:11 am Title: Chapter 10: T'Lessa

What a wonderful end to the chapter! I'm so glad the baby is safe. I hope everything works out and the Tuckers finally have the healthy baby they both want and need.

I really enjoyed Trip's conversation with Kirak. It was very well done. Kirak has a lot of catching up to do. So far he's handling having a Human son-in-law pretty well. Some Vulcan fathers would have probably just thrown Trip across the room and walked out. I look forward to reading more about Kirak and seeing his reaction to meeting T'Pol again after so many years apart.

Your story is progessing beautifully! You've included so many nice little details that make it a pleasure to read. I look forward to the next chapter!

 

Reviewer: Dinah Signed [Report This]
Date: July 25, 2015 07:22 am Title: Chapter 9: Unexpected

Wow, Panyasan, this is terrific! Why isn't everyone reading and reviewing your story.

Faridex. What a creative idea! A substance that masks DNA. I would think that Amanda and Malcolm would be all over that idea. It would fit right in with their line of work.

Your cliffhanger is better than ever. Now it looks like the recuers are going to need to be rescued. And what about Hoshi and Malcolm? Will they end up in the hands of the Orions, too? Great stuff!

I'm so glad you decided to continue this story. I think it's your best story yet. Absolutety -- I'm running out of adjectives -- FABULOUS!

 



Author's Response:

Thank you so much Dinah for your review. It's a great encouragement to hear you enjoyed this chapter so much. It really motives me even more to continue with this story. Thanks for your support.

Reviewer: Dinah Signed [Report This]
Date: May 20, 2014 03:26 pm Title: Chapter 8: Desert Rose

"Trip is not only family, he is the man who made us a family."

This quote is terrrific! It sums everything up just right -- and in very few words.

I think you have a very realistic view of Archer's relationship with T'Pol. Actually, it makes things much more interesting when everything isn't perfect.

You've done a very nice job with your original characters Henry Dubois and Samantha Thomas. They aren't just a couple of two-dimensional cardboard characters tossed in to stretch a story; they have a real purpose and depth.

As always you do such a nice job with Trip and T'Pol. Their love for each other shines through your words. Just beautiful!

And once again you have a nice cliffhanger. Trip meets T'Pol's father and the rescue mission is underway. Very well done!

 



Author's Response:

Always happy to see a review from your hand. The quote of Trip being the person who made the crew family was actually inspired by a remark you made a long time ago on the forum. I thought it was interesting to see how T'Pol relationship with Archer works and I am glad you thought it was realistic. And thank you so much for your compliments about the TnT scene. I love writing about them. 

Reviewer: Dinah Signed [Report This]
Date: January 19, 2014 10:14 am Title: Chapter 7 Family Ties

Panyasan, you're creating a masterpiece! You're carefully building a whole set of interlocking relationships while, at the same time, fleshing out the story of the Vulcan scism which resulted in the subsequent creation of the Romulan Empire. What an ambitious project!

Your descriptions are excellent and your characters are well-rounded and very believable. Mita, especially, has an excellent backstory. Her husband Volos seems to embody one of the great weaknesses of the Romulan Empire:  no tolerance for failure of any kind. They don't seem to realize that sometime people have to fail in order to evenutally succeed.

I'm very interested to see how you proceed from here, especially Trip's meeting with T'Pol's father. I'm SO impressed with your work! 

 

 



Author's Response:

Thank you so much for your review! I always have been fascinated by the Vulcan scism and its effect on people. Great remark about the weakness of the Romulan Empire being no tolerance for failure of any kind. I am sure going use that in the next chapters (if you don't mind). I hope you will enjoy the next chapters, especially Trip's meeting with T'Pol's father. 

Reviewer: Dinah Signed [Report This]
Date: September 08, 2013 10:10 am Title: Chapter 6 - Heartbeat

I'm sorry to be so late with my review, Panyasan. Every time I read one of your chapters I marvel that English isn't your first language, but none more than this chapter. It's terrific!

I was particularly struck by this sentence:  "He saw his own reflection: raven black hair, a spotless black uniform that clung to him to him like a second skin, the shining boots." When I read it for the first time, I was reminded of just how far you've come as an author. Your descriptions are far more creative and informative.

I love the way you introduced the baby at the start of new sections. And the way you introduced T'Pol and Trip to their child.

As for Trip, if help is going to come, it sounds as though they'd better hurry. Those Romulans are sneaky devils. I just hope the rescue doesn't end in tragedy. Trip would be devasted if he discovered that he was being used to lure Archer into a trap. 

You're doing a great job of building on the mystery. I really, really liked the section where Malcolm and Amanda were starting to figure things out, especially the discovery of Ellen Tenson. Extremely well done!

I'd say from 1 to 10 (with 10 being the best), I'd give your story so far an 11. It wonderfully well done. Congratulations!



Author's Response:

WOW, a 11 from Dinah, that's high praise indeed. I am so glad you enjoyed this chapter so much. Your words are a hugh encouragement for me. I am probably going read this review from time to time to encourage me to keep on writing. Thank you so much for the review. 

Reviewer: Dinah Signed [Report This]
Date: April 14, 2013 12:18 pm Title: Chapter 5: Silverbirds

I'm SO glad I read this chapter! You've got a terrific mystery going here.

This chapter is just jam packed with good stuff. V'Ran and Mita's relationship is really lovely, but yet it's logical for V'Ran to wonder about his wife back on Vulcan. The future of their baby must also be a grave concern for both of them; a prison is no place to bring up a child.

So V'Ran knew T'Pol's father, Kirak. And he's the source of much of Trip's trouble. Interesting! I'm with V'Ran; Trip had better be careful. Not only is he the son-in-law of an important dissident, he's also one of the people who had an important role in defeating the Romulans. I can't see any reason for the Romulans to keep him alive except to extract information, which they don't appear to have done, or to somehow use him against Earth.

Archer, I see, has his own problems. He's also playing "Who Do You Trust." T'Pol didn't send the magazine, so who did? Admiral Black appeared to be his friend and an ally in clearing his father's name, but now he's linked to a Romulan spy. Very suspenseful. I love the line: "And I didn't think there was a time limit on our friendship." In a few words, T'Pol sure knows how to put things in perspective.

I'm really looking forward to the next chapter. The surprises just keep coming. You're doing a wonderful job with this story!

 



Author's Response:

Thank you so much for your review, Dinah. I am glad you liked it so much. I especially was pleased you like the part about Archer, he is for me a nice challenge to write and I am glad you liked his part. I also think that T'Pol and Jon have a special kind of friendship and it was time T'Pol reminded him of it. Thanks for the encouragement by writing your review, it really inspires me to continue with the next chapter. 

Reviewer: Dinah Signed [Report This]
Date: January 26, 2013 06:30 pm Title: Chapter 4: Dilithium

Wow! I can't understand why this chapter hasn't been reviewed. It's terrific.

is in a difficult place, I'm even more concerned about who's trying to separate him from T'Pol. The bug in his brain is a VERY scary thing, but someone would have had to know about Trip's marriage to a Vulcan in order for the bug to be seen as necessary.

I like your original characters very much, especially Mita and V'Ran. It has to be difficult to see the pregnant Mita every day, but yet it must be rather comforting, too. When he sees the two Vulcans together, I have a feeling he's seeing himself with T'Pol. With the bond gone, his memories are all he has left.

I'm really looking forward to the next chapter! T'Pol has her work cut out for. Trip won't be easy to find.  



Author's Response:

Thanks, Dinah. I thought the chapter worked out pretty well and I am so glad you enjoyed it. You are asking the right questions when it comes to the bug that was planted near Trip's ear. Thank you for enjoying my OC's Mita and V'Ran. I have become very fond of them. Life haven't been easy for both of them, but be sure they will use their life experience to help Trip. 

Reviewer: Dinah Signed [Report This]
Date: September 15, 2012 03:33 pm Title: Chapter 3: Rokel

Another great cliffhanger! Poor Trip. A slave in a Romulan mine and he can't communicate with T'Pol. 

Those two guys from Special Services didn't exactly seem too trustworthy. Even if they had a legitimate concern about infiltrators, they picked a pretty insensitive way to recruit Trip. I was a little surprised that Archer basically sat there and said nothing. Do they have something on Archer? Had the infiltrators started to discredit him. too? 

I like the name Trip chose for himself. Selecting Rokel is a way to stay close to T'Pol. It also seems to indicate that he's still trying to keep a stiff upper lift.

You did a great job of providing a reason why Trip behaved so uncharacteristically in the Abomination. I liked the protective suit, but the communication device Trip attached to his ear still makes me a little nervous.

You did a nice job of handling a delicate subject:  Trip and T'Pol's attempts to have a child. The emotional impact was there, but it was kept in line with the way a Vulcan would deal with a heartbreaking loss. I hope things work out for both of them so that they start a family. They've had so much grief in their lives, they certainly have earned a chance at happiness.

Congratulations on a terrific chapter!



Author's Response:

Thank you for the nice review. Yes, Archer is in deep trouble and he is having a very hard time. As for the communication device, that's going play a huge role in the next chapter. You're to feel nervous about it. I am happy that you thought T'Pol was still Vulcan in her response. It's a challenge not to make her too emotional in a human way, but show her emotions and yet keep T'Pol fully Vulcan. Thank you for your encouragement. 

Reviewer: Dinah Signed [Report This]
Date: September 08, 2012 01:14 pm Title: Chapter 2: Trapped

I don't know how I missed this chapter. Wow! It's wonderful! So many people seem to rush their stories to get to the "good" part. You've avoided that pitfall beautifully. You brought your story along at your own pace developing your plot and your characters as you go.

I kind of hope Malcolm gets together with Amanda. They have similar interests and a they seem to have develooped a nice, comfortable relationship through mutual support and their letters. I also like the way you've handled Amanda's injuries. You didn't go into excessive details and you didn't come up with some sort of medical miracle to solve all her problems. Unfortunately, his was a battle many people are forced to face. This situation for Amanda certainly seemed to ring true.

It's interesting to see the reaction of Archer and Phlox to their deception. Secion 31 certainly didn't leave Trip much choice if he wanted to protect T'Pol.

Great mystery! Great story! Great writing! I'm looking forward to the next chapter.

Author's Response:

Thank you so much for your long review. I am glad you liked the long road of building up a friendship between Malcolm and Amanda. I wanted them to be friends first. Phlox and Jon aren't very happy about their role, but both of them will have time to redeem themselves. I also wanted to give Trip a good reason to do what he did, but that will be explained in the coming chapters. Thanks again for your support!

Reviewer: Eireann Signed [Report This]
Date: September 06, 2012 12:01 pm Title: Chapter 3: Rokel

Wow, this is thrilling stuff!  Please continue!



Author's Response:

Thanks, Eireann! I am planning the next chapter as we speak. 

Reviewer: Kotik Signed [Report This]
Date: September 01, 2011 10:09 pm Title: Chapter 2: Trapped

Why do I get the impression that this is taking a direct route to pon-farr? The story is really intiguing and with a lot of lose ends there's much to expect from coming chapters. Good work.



Author's Response:

Thanks, Kotik. I am not really a fan of female Pon farr, so no, T'Pol isn't in danger because of Pon farr. Pon farr is going to play a role in this story, but in another way. I give you a clue: a Vulcan male prisoner with plans to escape.

Reviewer: Dinah Signed [Report This]
Date: June 28, 2011 03:30 am Title: Chapter 1 - Barefoot

I just can't get over how your stories have improved. You're doing a nice job of showing how deeply T'Pol was affected by the loss of Trip and how she is managing to cope with his death.  The reader feels her pain, but you've still kept her Vulcan.

The interview with Mr. Dubois was very interesting.  There's something else going on there, but I'm just not sure what.  It was sloppy of Archer to appear to be unaffected by Trip's loss; he should know better.  Could it be that he didn't approve of what Trip's doing?

I'm glad you mentioned how the Romulan War changed Trip and T'Pol.  It would undoubtedly have been a very difficult time for both of them.

On another note, I have to admit that I rather liked Trip being written up as an engineer-playboy.  We know that's really not what he's like, but it's easy to see why the media would see him in that light.    

As much as I hate the episode which shall not be named, I'm really looking forward to the next chapter!



Author's Response:

It's so nice and encouraging to find positive reviews for a story you have written, so thank you all! Thank you, Dinah for your compliments. I am so glad you enjoyed the story.

Reviewer: Brandyjane Signed [Report This]
Date: June 28, 2011 03:22 am Title: Chapter 1 - Barefoot

Wow! This story really has me hooked. I'm not usually a huge fan of "TATV" fixes (I prefer to just ignore it), but in just two chapters you've caused me to completely reevaluate that position. The scenes between Trip and T'Pol in the first chapter were perfect. I don't know how else to describe it. I also really enjoy the Malcolm and Amanda scenes. I always thought those two were perfect for each other! I'm really looking forward to chapter three.



Author's Response:

Thanks, Brandyjane for your nice compliments. So you thought Malcolm and Amanda would make a good couple. Let's say their relationship is going to be... interesting. ;)

Reviewer: Honeybee Signed [Report This]
Date: June 27, 2011 01:43 pm Title: Chapter 2: Trapped

Very, very intense stuff. Love the use of the color red. Malcolm is very intriguing here, as is his relationship with Amanda. Good job!



Author's Response:

Thanks, Honeybee. I am glad you found Malcolm and his relationship with Amanda intriguing.

Reviewer: bluetiger Signed [Report This]
Date: June 25, 2011 06:16 pm Title: Chapter 2: Trapped

Very good work, panyasan. Watching Malcolm and Amanda come together as friends is heartwarming. Poor Amanda having to deal with such harsh realities of war is sad. However your Amanda is a woman of great strenght. I hope things will work out for them.

What is going on with T'Pol? I hope there will be more soon.



Author's Response:

Thanks Bluetiger! I am glad you liked the friendship between Malcolm and Amanda. The next chapter is in the making. It's going to have a lot more TnT and will reveal more about what's going on with T'Pol.

Reviewer: Aquarius Signed [Report This]
Date: December 18, 2010 06:39 am Title: Chapter 1 - Barefoot

Holy....! *flails* You're leaving us there????  No fair!! I'm so very intrigued and I want more!!!



Author's Response:

Thanks Aquarius. I am planning on giving more. ;)

Reviewer: Lady Rainbow Signed [Report This]
Date: November 28, 2010 12:37 am Title: Chapter 1 - Barefoot

Intriguing! I'm looking forward to seeing how this plays out. :-)



Author's Response:

Thanks Lady Rainbow. Nice to hear from you.

Reviewer: paulinem Signed [Report This]
Date: November 25, 2010 01:35 pm Title: Chapter 1 - Barefoot

Ooo....  Interesting ending!  I haven't read the book TGTMD (but I've heard enough to be familiar with what happened), so I'm interested to see how this story will progress.



Author's Response:

Thanks paulinem. I am still working on that second chapter, but I am planning some hopefully interesting twists in this story.

You must login (register) to review.