You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: Kathy Rose Signed [Report This]
Date: July 23, 2014 10:23 am Title: Chapter 6

Very entertaining and a nice ending.

The "dream within a dream" device, where Archer wakes in his bed in his apartment and then wakes up on Enterprise, was very effective. I absolutely didn't see that coming.

Was it some sort of temporal… never mind, I don’t want to know. I laughed out loud at this, especially since Jon and his crew had more than their share of temporal instances.

I particularly liked how you handled Jon's love for Hoshi at the end. Not overdone, and yet his feelings for her were well defined.

So glad I finally got around to reading this last chapter!



Author's Response:

I am so very happy that you got a chance to read the last chapter of this story. I am also glad that the whammy at the end was a blind side. I was unsure if using the Junior Q device would be old.

Of course, I couldn't write an Enterprise story without including some A/S shipping and I am glad you felt that it was tastefully done. After all, this story really isn't about them but about the spirit of Christmas.

Thank you for reviewing!

Reviewer: Verse Ranger Signed [Report This]
Date: June 25, 2014 05:49 am Title: Chapter 6

I've been anticipating this last chapter, and you didn't dissapoint! I thought this was really great, because you kept it true to both the original work and Trek.  Such a creative way to blend the two together in the end.



Author's Response:

Thanks!

I am glad you enjoyed the ride. When I originally thought this out I hadn't intended to have this be another episode of the Q messing around with us poor mortals, but the opportunity was too good to pass up.

Thanks for reviewing!

Reviewer: Frakme Signed [Report This]
Date: June 21, 2014 12:07 am Title: Chapter 6

I must admit, it's been a long time coming... but well worth the wait!

A dream within a dream... and Jon seems to have taken aboard the lessons learned. 

Lovely!!



Author's Response:

Thanks!

Yes, it was a long time in coming but I was well satisfied on how it all wrapped up and I couldn't resist having this be more than just a dream or a simple retellling of Dicken's classic.

I am glad you enjoyed it and thank you for reviewing!

Reviewer: Kathy Rose Signed [Report This]
Date: January 31, 2014 12:46 am Title: Chapter 5

I knew it! I knew who the Ghost of Christmas Future was. LOL!

Jon's growing distress at what his future holds is very apparent in this chapter. Nicely done to keep it slowly ramping up until he's very definitely confronted with his own mortality.

Eagerly anticipating the next chapter.

 



Author's Response:

I had such a kick in writing Soval as the Ghost of Christmas Present. I am glad you enjoyed him in that role and I figured you would guess after having two aliens as the first two ghosts. Who else to play a grumpy robe wearing ghost?

Yes, Jon is finally understanding that he is mortal and a jerk. Don't worry, he comes around.

Reviewer: Frakme Signed [Report This]
Date: January 30, 2014 10:58 pm Title: Chapter 5

Soval is perfect as the ghost of Christmas Future, and the drama just builds and builds. 

I think you are doing a fantastic job of remaining faithful to the original story.



Author's Response:

Thank you! I've been trying hard to stick to the original story although it's been fun tweaking it so that it works in the Star Trek universe.

Reviewer: Kathy Rose Signed [Report This]
Date: January 30, 2014 01:34 am Title: Chapter 4

I really feel sorry for Jon now. He's beginning to see what he's been missing, pushing all these people out of his life. Phlox's line -- Rest assured that most of humanity hasn’t lost the Christmas spirit, even if you have. -- really hits home. And finding out he has a grown daughter has to be a shocker.

Phlox is perfect as the Ghost of Christmas Present. I had to laugh as he kept eating his way through that whole scene. but it would be just like him to do that.

Can't wait to find out if you've put another alien as the Ghost of Christmas Future. 



Author's Response:

Thanks Kathy. I felt bad for Jon too although I had such fun writing Jon as a jerk that it will be almost too bad to stay faithful to the original story line and bring him around in the end.

I couldn't imagine anyone else as the cheery Ghost of Christmas Present.

Reviewer: Frakme Signed [Report This]
Date: January 27, 2014 11:13 pm Title: Chapter 4

I'm so glad to see this, I was wondering about it the other day. 

I feel kind of sorry for Jon :(

What a great chapter!



Author's Response:

I am glad that you enjoyed the chapter! There's more to come!

Don't feel too sorry for Jon. He really is a schmuck in this story. ;)

Reviewer: Kathy Rose Signed [Report This]
Date: December 23, 2013 03:51 pm Title: Chapter 3

Ow. That hurt, even knowing what was coming from the original story. I like how you have Jon and Hoshi meet at a Starfleet party, although at first I thought it was going to be Erika. Shran as the Ghost of Christmas Past was an interesting choice, too. I hope you have the next chapter ready soon.



Author's Response:

Thanks for taking the time to review Kathy. Yes, that bit always does hurt a bit, in some versions more than others. In the version with the Muppets and Michael Caine they do a great scene with him and the girl breaking it off. It always gets me to tear up. I hope you enjoy the next chapter.

Reviewer: Kathy Rose Signed [Report This]
Date: December 04, 2013 12:19 pm Title: Chapter 2

A.G. is perfect. I can hear him saying what you've written for him. The little touches you've included, such as A.G.'s glass disappearing when he puts it down, are captivating and add depth to the imagry. And I loved that he went through Archer and made Archer feel cold.

Sad that Porthos is no longer around, but considering when this takes place, that's probably to be expected. And that Archer keeps his dog bed nearby -- I think that's a telling sign that maybe he's not as tough as he makes out to be.

Can't wait to see who portrays the three spirits!



Author's Response:

I am glad you enjoyed A.G. Who better to play Archer's partner in crime? This was one of those scenes where I can see it so clearly it might have been on tv. It was so easy to write after that.

And it is sad about Porthos.

Reviewer: Eireann Signed [Report This]
Date: December 02, 2013 01:40 am Title: Chapter 1

This is so intriguing, I can't wait for more! Ebeneezer Archer, what a wonderfully original idea!



Author's Response:

Thank you! I am glad you are enjoying this so far! As to the originality of it, I wish I were that talented but melding Dickens with Enterprise seemed like a good idea.

Reviewer: Kathy Rose Signed [Report This]
Date: December 02, 2013 12:01 am Title: Chapter 1

Wonderful beginning! The way you've written Archer, I can picture him in this role. And Travis is perfect in his part. Loved the image of ensigns scurrying around, and the intrigue of who is Archer "divided from forever, another of them was dead." Although I have read or seen so many versions of the A Christmas Carol, you've certainly given it a fresh take. Can't wait for the next chapter!



Author's Response:

Thank you! Archer is a great character to get stern and Scrooge-like with. He fits the type so well! ;) 

You must login (register) to review.