Reviews For The Gilded Cage
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: Reanok Signed [Report This]
Date: March 13, 2013 01:19 pm Title: Chapter 24

Kathy I really like the historical details of the gilded age in your story. And how the Enterpise crew dealt being trapped in earth'd past.This is an excellent time travel story and I really enjoyed raeding it.Bravo!I liked the part about Trip&T'pol getting married by a minister.

Author's Response:

Thank you, Reanok. I thought a lot of people here would like the part about Trip and T'Pol getting married. :)

Reviewer: bluetiger Signed [Report This]
Date: February 26, 2013 11:47 pm Title: Chapter 24

That was a rousing fight at the end of their adventure. I hope that the vortex and beaming of the crew put the fear of God into any of the shanghaiers that may have caught a glimpse of them.

I'm glad they are back to normal now, but that kind of adventure will probably stay with each of them for quite a while.

Thank you for this wonderful jaunt back into a fascinating era in our history. You did make us feel as if we were there with them.



Author's Response:

Thank you, bluetiger! I appreciate you stuck with this the whole way.

Reviewer: bluetiger Signed [Report This]
Date: February 26, 2013 11:17 pm Title: Chapter 23

Poor T'Pol trying to climb in that outfit. Plus Daniels protection not working to keep her co-ordination flowing.

I should have realized...men were very often shanghaied in seaport towns.

Reviewer: bluetiger Signed [Report This]
Date: February 20, 2013 09:33 pm Title: Chapter 22

That was so funny. I imagine that Father Brennan wonders if Trip knows what he is getting into marrying such a forbiding woman.

I am impressed with Jon's quick thinking. Trip and T'Pol needing to get married before the ship sails is genius. With a properly romantic proposal of course.

 



Author's Response:

In my historical reseach, I found that there actually was a Father Brennan at Mission Delores at this time. I couldn't resist doing a scene along these lines because of it. As for Jon, he's telling the truth... he hopes they will be leaving on a ship soon!

Reviewer: bluetiger Signed [Report This]
Date: February 19, 2013 09:28 pm Title: Chapter 21

William is fortunate that T'Pol did not unleash her 'delicate nature' on his head. Don't get me started on the attitudes of men at this time!

Now, who on Earth is this strange man that has been spying on Jon and Trip. I gather that it is not Daniels but someone up to no good. Another cliffhanger, eh!



Author's Response:

They're done with the train trip, but not with some of the problems of the era. You'll find out soon. Thanks for reading, bt.

Reviewer: bluetiger Signed [Report This]
Date: February 18, 2013 10:37 pm Title: Chapter 20

The way home seems to be in sight but I doubt it will be that easy. Nothing for oue beloved crew ever is.

I imagine having an actual bath was a highlight of the day for everyone. While the train was well tricked out, washing in a basin is a poor substitute.

Why do I get the feeling that Daniels is not telling them something.



Author's Response:

The Palace Hotel in San Francisco did, and still does I believe, exist. In doing research, I stumbled across the hotel's brochures, which provided a wealth of information about the place. The description of it for that time is as accurate as I could make it.

Daniels usually irritated me in the series. But I had a lot of fun writing him for this story because he wasn't totally sure what was going on or how to deal with it.

Reviewer: bluetiger Signed [Report This]
Date: February 18, 2013 10:22 pm Title: Chapter 19

It is so good to know that the family of Isaac will go on to do great things.

Well it seems that William is going to be a major pest. I guess that Flagler doesn't completely trust Captain Archer.



Author's Response:

I don't think the robber barons trusted anyone. But it also was typical that they paid a lot of attention to detail, micromanaging their business affairs. :)

Reviewer: bluetiger Signed [Report This]
Date: February 15, 2013 12:00 am Title: Chapter 18

I am so pleased that T'Pol came to the rescue. I love it when men underestimate the woman and she kicks their rear, or in this case, shoots them!

That pie should be extra sweet and savored by all.

I am sad that Trip will not be able to keep his harmonica. Maybe he will forget it's in his pocket when they leave. Clearly by accident.

 



Author's Response:

The thing is that I gave them all these props like the handguns. It would be a shame if they didn't get to use them. ;)

Reviewer: Honeybee Signed [Report This]
Date: February 14, 2013 09:37 pm Title: Chapter 18

Harmonica! Of course. Although, I am sorry that T'Pol doesn't plan on taking her notes. This could make a great story for her granddaughter a la Carbon Creek. I'm glad to see her taking care of business, too.



Author's Response:

I'm glad you're enjoying the story. One of the more difficult things about writing it was how to keep it interesting as they travelled across country, and remembering that Trip had played the harmonica in a scene on the series was the inspiration for that little bit. :) My rationale behind T'Pol deciding not to take the notes along is that she probably could reproduce from memory once they ... oops! ... if they return to Enterprise.

Reviewer: Honeybee Signed [Report This]
Date: February 14, 2013 09:33 pm Title: Chapter 17

Broken Bow reference! Cliffhanger! Oh my! Now, things are getting exciting!

Reviewer: Honeybee Signed [Report This]
Date: February 14, 2013 09:26 pm Title: Chapter 16

Deleterious is an amazing word. I'm also fond of the phrase "frock coat". This is quite a fascinating character study all around, with T'Pol, Trip, Travis and John each falling into their specific roles, and I really like Jon's inherent knowledge of his people. That was what made him such a great leader after all.

Reviewer: Honeybee Signed [Report This]
Date: February 14, 2013 09:22 pm Title: Chapter 15

Finally catchng up! Oh, T'Pol and Daniels! What a pair. I like that she's made homesick hre, and I wonder if T'Pol is going to have to take command eventually! Very compelling stuff.

Reviewer: bluetiger Signed [Report This]
Date: February 13, 2013 10:16 pm Title: Chapter 17

I'm so glad that Trip got the chance to see a real saloon. If they remember this, Trip will have great stories to tell his grandkids.

The town came alive through the eyes of our time travelers.

I was afraid something was going to happen. It's kind of mean of you to leave us with Jon and T'Pol at gun point!

I shouldn't complain though, westerns serials are famous for cliffhangers.



Author's Response:

Western movie cliffhangers is exactly what I was thinking when I wrote the end of this chapter! And I'm with Trip on this -- I couldn't let them go all the way through the Wild West and not have at least one of them check out a saloon. I'm glad you're enjoying this story, bt.

Reviewer: bluetiger Signed [Report This]
Date: February 13, 2013 09:56 pm Title: Chapter 16

Yay, Daniels. I'm so glad he is providing them with some protection.

Reviewer: bluetiger Signed [Report This]
Date: February 13, 2013 09:52 pm Title: Chapter 15

So we have some answers. The transport system is creating adaptations of their behavior upon arrival. Very interesting. I hope Daniels is able to help before they become permanent

I am curious as to why T'Pol needs her notes.

Reviewer: bluetiger Signed [Report This]
Date: February 07, 2013 10:44 pm Title: Chapter 14

Leave it to Trip. I have to admit that I also believe in the medicinal effects of good chocolate. That's my story and I'm sticking to it.

Maybe this will at least ease whatever is wrong with them. I'm glad they aren't getting any worse...at least yet!



Author's Response:

Well, you know, there isn't much for them to work with in that time period. :) Thanks for reading.

Reviewer: Honeybee Signed [Report This]
Date: February 07, 2013 07:29 pm Title: Chapter 14

Best line: " which was odd because he did have a knack for injuring himself." It's funny because it's true. Otherwise, this is a great, and heart-wrenching Travis-centered chapter. You've really done more with him in this story than the writers ever did!



Author's Response:

I found Travis among the easiest of the regular characters to write. As you point out, the writers didn't do much with him. So that left something of a blank slate to work with. Thanks for keeping up with this story!

Reviewer: bluetiger Signed [Report This]
Date: February 05, 2013 10:20 pm Title: Chapter 13

Yikes, this is getting serious. What on Earth is happening to everyone?

It isn't always pretty but history is what we learn from. All we can ever hope for is that people learn from their mistakes and stop repeating them.

Surely even Vulcans realize that no culture just springs forth as a utopia.

 

 

 

 

 

 



Author's Response:

They certainly are getting an education on what life was like in late 19th century America, both the good and the bad. And is it just coincidence they're all feeling "off," or is it something else? Stay tuned!

Reviewer: Honeybee Signed [Report This]
Date: February 05, 2013 09:59 pm Title: Chapter 13

Nice reference to the show with the dilithiim miners, and Archer's penchant for helping people. I do wonder if Native Americans will really be called that in the future, or if they will be called by their individual tribe names. But n any case, glad to see Travs realizing that it isn't like the movies - in so many ways.



Author's Response:

There's the problem with a story that has characters from the future who go back to our past, and having to write it in our present. Things probably will be different than how we view them today. And I think Travis is a lot smarter and more sensitive than people give him credit for.

Reviewer: bluetiger Signed [Report This]
Date: February 05, 2013 09:54 pm Title: Chapter 12

How could Trip not be excited to see a marshal in person, being such a western movie buff.

I am beginning to get worried. Something seems amiss with Archer and T'Pol both not feeling well.

I imagine that Trip will more than enjoy getting a look at this engine. All that is going on seems right up his alley.



Author's Response:

He-he! When I realized that the Gilded Age included the Wild West time period, I knew this could be doubly interesting for Trip. As far as something being amiss, you'll find out in the next chapters.

Reviewer: Honeybee Signed [Report This]
Date: February 05, 2013 09:54 pm Title: Chapter 12

The harshness of the times must be so jarring to them, even as seasoned travelers. Wounded Knee was such a terrible atrocity. I love the last scene, that lightens things up a little, especially the last line!



Author's Response:

The contradictions of this era were incredible. Some people led very privileged lives, insulated from what wasn't so good or comfortable, much like Jon and the others being insulated in their Pullman train car until they leave it. Thanks for reading.

Reviewer: Honeybee Signed [Report This]
Date: February 05, 2013 09:52 pm Title: Chapter 11

Man, I think the green blood must be trouble. I'm glad Isaac is quick on the uptake, and very glad to see his relationship/friendship with Travis growing.



Author's Response:

Despite their intention to have as little interaction with the people of the time so as not to change the timeline, Jon and his officers are finding out that some contact can't be avoided.

Reviewer: bluetiger Signed [Report This]
Date: January 31, 2013 11:46 pm Title: Chapter 11

Good for Isaac. He stood up for what he saw but was not freaked out by it. There are times when you just have to trust good people.

Hopefully the marshal will wrap things up quickly and have no reason to get suspicious.



Author's Response:

The challenge of writing Isaac was not to make him a caricature. He's an intelligent man bound by the circumstances of the era, doing the best he can.

Reviewer: Honeybee Signed [Report This]
Date: January 31, 2013 08:59 am Title: Chapter 10

I love the little moments where the equality with which they treat each other, especially Travis, threaten to give them away. I like how they roll up their sleeves and try and help, as well, even if that could give them away.



Author's Response:

I think that's where Jon's role as a sea captain helps. He's supposedly used to being in charge of a ship full of sailors, so no one questions him as the one to decide what to do, such as clearing the tracks. And of course, they're supposed to be "priority" passengers, so if Jon's taking charge of getting the tracks cleared gets them on their way, I don't think the other train crew members would object.

Reviewer: bluetiger Signed [Report This]
Date: January 30, 2013 10:41 pm Title: Chapter 10

You got me. I was very puzzeled as to why the robbers were a no-show. It never occurred to me that Daniels had spooked their horses. Well done, Daniels!

Isaac is a very sharp man. I have a feeling that very little gets by him. T'Pol and Travis really stepped up caring for the injured. But I think Isaac may notice something strange about Miss Paul's wound and the name Travis called her.

 



Author's Response:

The impression I got from the series is that, even though Daniels isn't supposed to interfere in a timeline, he loves being in ones different than his own. Case in point, his taking over steward duties for Archer from the crewman who usually did that. And Isaac is very sharp. There will be a bit more of that coming up.

You must login (register) to review.