Reviews For Local Attractions
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: Kathy Rose Signed [Report This]
Date: December 06, 2012 04:21 pm Title: Fly Me to the Moon

Nice. You really did a good job of weaving the emotional vibe of the song titles/chapter titles into the feeling of each chapter, making them unique, yet cohesive to the whole story.

I do love that you ended on a positive note. I'm a sucker for happy endings. :)

Reviewer: Kathy Rose Signed [Report This]
Date: December 06, 2012 04:17 pm Title: 21 Questions

Very sweet.

Reviewer: Kathy Rose Signed [Report This]
Date: December 06, 2012 11:13 am Title: Shy That Way

Finally! I'm glad they're going to talk about it.

Reviewer: Kathy Rose Signed [Report This]
Date: December 06, 2012 11:10 am Title: Looking For a Reason

I'm hoping Trip talks Malcolm out of transferring. That Malcolm is even considering leaving shows how much the Expanse affected everyone.

The previous chapter was well done in showing how much these two men were hurting; this chapter was excellently done showing how they are trying to heal.

Reviewer: Kathy Rose Signed [Report This]
Date: December 06, 2012 11:02 am Title: Love is a Losing Game

The chapter title certainly fits, and I can honestly say I didn't see that coming. I really feel sorry for both Trip and Malcolm. They come across as sympathetic characters in this chapter.

Reviewer: Kathy Rose Signed [Report This]
Date: December 06, 2012 10:57 am Title: We Found Love

Poor Malcolm! He finally declares his love and thinks Hoshi loves Jon.

Reviewer: Kathy Rose Signed [Report This]
Date: December 06, 2012 10:53 am Title: Ain't Nobody

Ow. You made me really feel for Malcolm in this piece. First, he's so wrapped up in regret for what he's doing, then losing Hoshi. And of course the realization about a use for the transporter that he hadn't thought of.

The last paragraph was very powerful.

Reviewer: tishkajaku Signed [Report This]
Date: November 11, 2012 09:17 pm Title: Ain't Nobody

Oh yes, this triangle is one of the most heartrending, as they all three have so much need yet find it so hard to ask for it to be filled. You have written this so very well, bring the sweet angst right to our seeking souls!

Author's Response:

Thank you!  I had worried I didn't really make the triangle aspect obvious enough.

Reviewer: tishkajaku Signed [Report This]
Date: November 11, 2012 09:03 pm Title: Save a Prayer

And again, they find that quiet understanding to get through another difficult aftermath. Love how you are bringing this alive! And they are in character.

Reviewer: tishkajaku Signed [Report This]
Date: November 11, 2012 09:00 pm Title: Shut Your Eyes

I have enjoyed revisiting Urquat, and how you used the natural reticence of Hoshi and Malcolm influenced but the virus after effects to create a deeper part of this story!

Reviewer: Kathy Rose Signed [Report This]
Date: November 09, 2012 06:01 pm Title: Save a Prayer

I didn't get the title of this story until I started this chapter. Clever, indeed!

Again, a little bittersweet, but it seems right. Hoshi's jumpiiness is certainly understandable, and Malcolm wanting to help is in line with his protectiveness. The whole story seems very natural and unforced.

I feel a little sad for them that their relationship might not go any further.



Author's Response:

Don't worry, it's a Valentine's Day fic, and Valentine's Day fics aren't supposed to end sadly.  I will not spoil beyond that statement though.  :)

The title actually comes from a conversation between Christopher Pike and Phil Boyce in D.C. Fontana's TOS book, Vulcan's Glory.  It's a reference to Pike's potential relationship with Number One, but the sentiment is also a perfect fit for Malcolm & Hoshi.  I'm glad you liked the idea!

Reviewer: Kathy Rose Signed [Report This]
Date: November 09, 2012 05:55 pm Title: Shut Your Eyes

I can see Hoshi and Malcolm needing each other to get through this, in light of episode. Well done!

But before I go read the next chapter, I have to say that you really set the tone -- the uncertainty, the wondering when they would quit dreaming about Urquat -- very convincingly. I really feel for what they are going through.

Reviewer: EntAllat Signed [Report This]
Date: November 09, 2012 02:55 pm Title: Shut Your Eyes

I love the way you write - it flows so very well. It did take me a moment to remember that Urquat and the Loque’eque were part of the epsiode "Extinction", it'd been so long since I'd watched that one. I do like the fact that the dreams haven't gone away quite yet.

My favorite moment here is the hand holding between Hoshi and Malcolm. In-character, akward, full of lots of things left unsaid. Very nicely done.

Also - nice way to weave the song lyrics into this chapter!

You must login (register) to review.