Reviews For Must Love Sehlats
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: Dinah Signed [Report This]
Date: August 17, 2013 12:23 pm Title: Chapter 1

I'm not sure how I missed this story, but it was great! It's amazing how much two people can learn about one another just by discussing a child's potential pet.



Author's Response:

Thanks, Dinah! :)

Reviewer: Koken Signed [Report This]
Date: January 01, 2012 02:07 pm Title: Chapter 1

:):):):) :)!!

I love it! My absolute favorite was "Vulcan for 'you're a dick.'" and Porthos was adorable. I love it when something comes out of a request that I wasn't expecting. This is fantastic!

Thank you Thank you Thank you!

I love how cute Trip and T'Pol are together and the bond-ee-ness and the dog saving Lizzie!! Om-G!!! I loved it.

Did I mention Thank you?

Did I mention I loved it.

Well then SUPER!

:) -koken, one very very happy giftie!



Author's Response:

I'm so glad you liked it, Koken! :-) I had fun writing it. Happy Holidays, hon. *hugs*

Reviewer: tishkajaku Signed [Report This]
Date: December 31, 2011 12:17 am Title: Chapter 1

This is a very real, tangible moment of parenting. You weave our Trip and T'Pol realistically in a parenting role. Both are true to their characters on Enterprise, and also perfect team parenting that we find on our world today.

 

Loved it! Lucky koken!



Author's Response:

I'm glad that the parenting resonated as true. My only frame of reference are my furry little children at home. ;-) Thanks for reviewing.

Reviewer: lfvoy Signed [Report This]
Date: December 29, 2011 07:07 pm Title: Chapter 1

Thank you!  I loved this, especially at the beginning and the end. (Is Blue Moon also Trip's favorite beer?) The little slices of life throughout were just marvelous and well-done.



Author's Response:

Ironically, yes, I did picture Blue Moon in that fridge...but mostly because *I* like it LOL. Glad you liked it! Thanks.

Reviewer: Kathy Rose Signed [Report This]
Date: December 29, 2011 03:14 pm Title: Chapter 1

Great story! Love the parental bickering between Trip and T'Pol at the beginning, and the ending made me feel all mushy!

I get where T'Pol is coming from about putting up the Christmas lights. I always tell my hubby to get me when he gets to that, but half the time he does it by himself, climbing up the ladder and standing on the very top.

That was a great explanation for why Trip isn't comfortable with sehlats, the fangs in a teddy bear making it seem dangerous. And an imaginative use of T'Pol's white space that was wonderful!

 



Author's Response:

Thanks, Kathy Rose. I figured that marriage wouldn't change Trip's stubborn streak much. ;-) Thanks for the review!

Reviewer: Brandyjane Signed [Report This]
Date: December 29, 2011 09:54 am Title: Chapter 1

I'd love to know the story behind the duck-billed platypus. To think that T'Pol would have the same reaction to one of those cute little things as Trip did to a sehlat is just too funny! I'd also like to hear more about T'Pol's father's death. I'd never considered that it might have something to do with Andorians before. That would certainly put an interesting twist on all of the Andorian episodes. Do you have any plans to explore that history more?



Author's Response:

Well, it's one of those things...it's a great idea that I'd like to explore, but school eats my life and I have to be realistic and prioritize the projects I take on. I'm even having to say no to challenges, even when they're my own idea. So it's one of those things that will percolate in my head until I have time to do something about it or I get a better idea -- whichever comes first. Thanks for reading!

Reviewer: Lady Rainbow Signed [Report This]
Date: December 29, 2011 07:43 am Title: Chapter 1

I want a sehlat! :-p

Nice compromise, to let Lorian decide between a dog and a sehlat. Sometimes it takes a concussion for someone as hard-headed as Trip to reconsider (sorry, but I love the line 'Are you the Ghost of Christmas Past'?" XD). And the glimpses of Trip and T'Pol's respective pasts were awesome.

 



Author's Response:

I thought about going the whole Scrooge route for like a minute, but I figured it's probaboy been done to death LOL. Thanks for reading!

Reviewer: asearcher Signed [Report This]
Date: December 29, 2011 12:31 am Title: Chapter 1

Very nice story and great way to pull stories from their past in.  Thanks for sharing!



Author's Response:

Thanks for reviewing.

Reviewer: bluetiger Signed [Report This]
Date: December 28, 2011 09:52 pm Title: Chapter 1

This is great. I love family stories. It's so nice to see Trip and T'Pol dealing with things like regular parents. I hate that Trip had to crack his head to see the light. That was the perfect compromise, to let Lorian make the choice. This was both warm and entertaining. Great job as usual.



Author's Response:

Thanks, BT! I like putting them through "regular" stuff, too. It seems only fair after all they went through on the show! Thanks for the review.

Reviewer: Weerd1 Signed [Report This]
Date: December 28, 2011 05:02 pm Title: Chapter 1

"Fortunately, sehlats are non-judgmental, and they do not betray one's secrets."

Excellent, excellent line.

Very fun story!



Author's Response:

Glad you liked that line. it seemed -- if you'll pardon the pun -- logical that Vulcans would appreciate the same things about pets that humans do. Thanks for reading!

Reviewer: Misplaced Signed [Report This]
Date: December 28, 2011 04:43 pm Title: Chapter 1

I love this! It's sweet without being cloying. It's funny. It's poignant.

I think I loved the scene with T'Pol's father the most--even though it was sad. It gave further depth to T'Pol, and even with just a few lines, her father seemed very real.

Excellent, excellent. Thank you for the great read!



Author's Response:

Thanks, Misplaced. I guess I've always been in the camp that believed T'Pol had always been much closer to her father. Thanks for reading!

Reviewer: Honeybee Signed [Report This]
Date: December 28, 2011 04:01 pm Title: Chapter 1

This could have turned out really sappy, but you made it very emotional and real. I like that the Tucker kids aren't perfect little moppets and T'Pol's grief is difficult for her to deal with. And yet, this is lovely and romantic. Excellent job.



Author's Response:

Thanks, Honeybee. And thank you also for the beta. I'm glad you liked the "imperfect" children from both sides of the galaxy. We already knew the Tucker kids weren't perfect, from the way Trip talked about putting creatures in Lizzie's doll house. I don't have siblings, but from what I've seen, even the tightst ones will bitch-slap each other at the drop of a dime until a certain age. As for T'Pol, we also know from her mother that her emotions were always close to the surface...so in both cases I guess I just kind of tried to work with what's already there. Thanks for everything!

You must login (register) to review.