Reviews For Buffalo Buffalo
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: Kathy Rose Signed [Report This]
Date: December 29, 2011 09:12 am Title: Chapter 1

That was hysterical! The guys' reactions to Hoshi's ranting were perfect! And I can understand her frustration, which is increased by the guys not really having a background in what she's talking about.

"Maybe Travis here ate him" and "I must be mssing a buffalo." LOL!

Totally love the "women are scary smart" remark!

Reviewer: asearcher Signed [Report This]
Date: December 26, 2011 09:14 pm Title: Chapter 1

Very, very clever and fun.  Love the concepts.  Thanks for sharing!!!

Reviewer: Aquarius Signed [Report This]
Date: December 17, 2011 03:53 pm Title: Chapter 1

*applaude* Love this, EntAllat. Linguistics can be so much fun!

Reviewer: Brandyjane Signed [Report This]
Date: December 16, 2011 02:39 pm Title: Chapter 1

This was really a fun story! Like others have said, it seems like something we really could have seen onscreen, particularly in the first couple of seasons. I liked how Travis went along with the joke about him eating the buffalo. The word at the end was great! How could someone like Hoshi not notice all those little looks between TnT.

Reviewer: tishkajaku Signed [Report This]
Date: December 16, 2011 12:33 am Title: Chapter 1

I know I sent this earlier by PM, but have to say again, I loved how creative this is your weaving a wonderful syntax 'riddle' into this and how our characters are spot on in your story. I can see them all at their table in the mess hall. Excellent!

Reviewer: paulinem Signed [Report This]
Date: December 15, 2011 05:41 pm Title: Chapter 1

Brilliant! Just brilliant, EntAllat!

You had me laughing from the beginning right through to the end. I could see every movement, every frustration. Bravo! 

But I have to say, that your've confused an already confused mind when it comes to gramma! *smiles embarrassed*

 



Author's Response:

I'm so glad you mentioned you could "see every movement". That's been something I've admired a few other fanfic writers for, but struggled with myself. It's very cool to hear that I've managed to do that in this piece. Thank you!

Reviewer: Artisticmom2 Signed [Report This]
Date: December 15, 2011 10:49 am Title: Chapter 1

While I had always thought that being Hoshi would be fun this is one of those times it definitely would not! Great premise, great writing, what's not to love?



Author's Response:

Hah! Yes, I would think her job has more than its fair share of stressful moments. Thank you for the kind words!

Reviewer: Hummingbird2 Signed [Report This]
Date: December 12, 2011 07:54 am Title: Chapter 1

That was fantastic, thank you!



Author's Response:

Thank you! I'm glad you liked it.

Reviewer: Lady Rainbow Signed [Report This]
Date: December 12, 2011 06:39 am Title: Chapter 1

BUFFALO!!!!! XD Where is it, Travis???

This reminds me of a poem in Mandarin that only has one word. "Shi" (pronounced 'shr') written 47 times, just with different tones. Each different tone is a different word. >.<

I LOVE that last word. Quite true too. 

Thank you! This is awesome!

 

Author's Response:

I figured you might like this one. ;-) I know you already showed me that poem earlier today, but I just have to say it again here: whoa.

Reviewer: panyasan Signed [Report This]
Date: December 11, 2011 11:52 pm Title: Chapter 1

"Maybe Travis here ate him?" - LOL - almost spilled my morning drink. This is such a delightful story - I know a little bit about languages and the way Hoshi struggles with the languages sounds familiar. I am also glad you showed how complicated Hoshi's job is and how clever she is.

And the last word of Hoshi and your translation: aaaahh, so wonderful. Great story!



Author's Response:

I'm really glad that one line tickled everyone so much. :D And you're welcome - the more I read about some of these mind-bending grammatical constructs, the more I felt for Hoshi, trying to accomplish that with alien languages.

 

Reviewer: bluetiger Signed [Report This]
Date: December 11, 2011 10:17 pm Title: Chapter 1

What a delightful moment aboard ship. So many times people forget how difficult other's jobs are. This was so entertaining and a lovely group exchange. It's so nice to have almost everyone take part in this story. Funny and charming. EntAllat.



Author's Response:

Thank you for such a lovely review! Sometimes I forget just how much mathematics and puzzle solving Hoshi would had to do in the course of her job. I imagine her fellow crewmates might forget sometimes too.

 

Reviewer: Honeybee Signed [Report This]
Date: December 11, 2011 09:47 pm Title: Chapter 1

Adorable story. Hypnotic sentence, too. A very fun read.



Author's Response:

That's a great description of the sentance. I love the "rose" one too, but I can't read all the way through the "it is" one without getting lost. :D

Thanks for the review!

 

Reviewer: lfvoy Signed [Report This]
Date: December 11, 2011 09:44 pm Title: Chapter 1

Oo!  Travis!  *snicker* 

Seriously, this was fun stuff and I love those little linguistic oddities too.  I also laughed so loud the cat gave me a strange look at Trip's "suggestion" involving the missing buffalo.

This was priceless, and yet so in character that I could see it actually being a useful scene in an episode.  Thank you!



Author's Response:

Thank you! That's always the best compliment I could ever get on something I've written. :)

You must login (register) to review.