Reviews For T'Pol of Vulcan
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: Dinah Signed [Report This]
Date: November 14, 2012 06:56 pm Title: Home

Panyasan, you've done a truly superb job of crafting a backstory for T'Pol. It's very believable because it fits beautifully with what we saw on the show.

I love the way you explained Soval's close relationship with T'Pol. It also goes a long way toward explaining why T'Pol seemed so disinterested in Koss; he wasn't her first betrothed. It's too bad that Linan died; it sounded like he and T'Pol were well matched. Her life would certainly have been very different had he lived.

Your descriptive passages are greatly improved! You've created a wonderful relationship between T'Pol and her father. It's certainly understandable that she would feel his loss so profoundly.

And Menos! Wow! Great villain. You have a nice little mystery going here. Suspense. Intrigue. Political subterfuge. There certainly appears to be a lot going on below the surface. No wonder T'Les was less than satisfied by Kimek and V'Tok's explanation for what happened to her husband. I hope you're going to continue to address this situation in future chapters.

Congratulations on a marvelous chapter! Exceedingly well done!

Author's Response:

Dinah, thank so so much for your kind words. They were very encouraging. The relationship between T'Pol and her father are one of the underlining themes in this story, so I was very glad you got a sense of the depths of their relationship. As for Menos, we will see more of him and little by little the truth will be revealed. 

Reviewer: Brandyjane Signed [Report This]
Date: November 10, 2012 01:57 pm Title: Home

I love this story! "The Seventh" was one of the most disappointing of all the episodes for me because, though it had the potential to be great, it just ended up making T'Pol look weak. I couldn't understand how T'Pol would fall apart like that. I love this story because you are giving it all context. If T'Pol and Menos had a deeper, way more personal history, then her psychological state makes a whole lot more sense.

I also like what you've done with Soval and T'Pol's history. I always felt there was a kind of father-daughter dynamic going on between them, and now you've given them a good reason for that. I think you are also explaining some of T'Pol's attitudes toward Koss. I, too, always suspected that she may have once had another betrothed or something. 

Finally, I just love the rich cultural details. You're not overwhelming us with details, but you're setting the atmosphere of the story so well.



Author's Response:

Thank you so much Brandyjane. I am glad you liked the story. I share your feeling about "The Seventh" and in this story I try to come up with a better backstory of T'Pol's action in "The Seventh" and other episodes. I am also glad you liked the cultural details and enjoyed the atmosphere of the story. As a writer that's very nice to hear. 

Reviewer: Dinah Signed [Report This]
Date: March 04, 2012 10:08 pm Title: A Vulcan marriage

This chapter is just marvelous, Panyasan! You've created a lovely romance for two people who were married before they slowly grew to love one another.

I always had a feeling that T'Pol relationship with her father was very special -- that he understood her better than anyone else. You've conveyed that beautifully here.

Very well done!

 



Author's Response:

Thank you so much for your kind words, Dinah! I am sorry not to respond sooner. I wanted to show how they slowly came to love each other and T'Pol's special relationship with her father, so I am happy that came across.

Reviewer: Artisticmom2 Signed [Report This]
Date: March 02, 2012 06:16 pm Title: A Vulcan marriage

This is such a beautifully poignant chapter. It is wonderful to see the love between T'Pol's parents. It is also interesting to see how Kirak is a slightly unconventional Vulcan and how this affects T'Pol later in life. Nicely done and I look forward to the next chapter.



Author's Response:

Thank you so much. The important theme in the story is the effect Kirak had on T'Pol's life. Hopefully I will finish the next chapter soon.

Reviewer: Dinah Signed [Report This]
Date: February 05, 2012 04:46 pm Title: Whisper

Panyasan, this was just wonderful! I can't believe how much your writing has improved! Your descriptions are very good and I really like the fact that you've created a believable link between Soval and T'Pol. They always seemed to be closer that mere colleagues for some reason.

And even better yet, you've left us with a mystery, the untimely death of T'Pol's father. This was just excellent from beginning to end!



Author's Response:

Thanks, Dinah. There's always has been a special connection between T'Pol and Soval and their relationship is part of this story. Thanks for your compliments about my writing, that's very good to hear!

Reviewer: Brandyjane Signed [Report This]
Date: February 04, 2012 03:18 pm Title: Whisper

Chapter two is so good! You've put in lots of little hints of how T'Pol is like her father (his preference for brightly colored clothes, full lips, expressive eyes, etc.), but you're not beating the reader over the head with how similar they are, either. T'Les comes across really well in this chapter, too. She's definitely the more reserved spouse, but her love for her husbad is clear. I really appreciate all of the cultural details you've given us, from little things like the decor in their bedroom all the way to major points, like how T'Les and Karik related to each other during their engagement and marriage. I'm really looking forward to more from this story.



Author's Response:

Thanks Brandyjane. I wanted to make clear that T'Les loves her husband, but would never express it like Humans would. I am so glad that came across. I always enjoy adding cultural details, to create a cultural surrounding for our hero's. Glad you're enjoying the story so much.

Reviewer: Honeybee Signed [Report This]
Date: December 27, 2011 04:35 am Title: Whisper

Love this story! Just a terrific vision of T'Pol.



Author's Response:

Thanks Honeybee. My aim is to create a whole background story for T'Pol which will explain her actions in season 1-4, but also create an interesting story for the fucture (season 5 and beyond.)

Reviewer: tishkajaku Signed [Report This]
Date: December 16, 2011 06:55 am Title: Whisper

Wow, now THIS is. T'Pol backstory worth exploring. Would have been a wonderful addition to the 5-6-7 seasons we never got, maybe a couple of episodes a year ,w it's a final telling of the truth in season 7. Great work!



Author's Response:

Many thanks for your review, Tish. You may be glad to know I am planning that this story will run through season 1-4 and beyond....

Reviewer: Brandyjane Signed [Report This]
Date: December 15, 2011 10:51 pm Title: Whisper

I am so excited about this story! I'm fascinated by the idea that Koss could have had a wife before T'Pol and that T'Pol could have had a betrothed who she actually wanted to marry. It could answer a lot of questions if something like this had been explained. I also like that Soval is the father of her dead betrothed. I always felt like there was a special relationship between T'Pol and Soval. I hope you can post another chapter soon!



Author's Response:

Thanks for your lovely review, Brandyjane. I am happy you liked the story so much. Writing this story is a joy.

Reviewer: Artisticmom2 Signed [Report This]
Date: December 15, 2011 04:53 pm Title: Whisper

I love this first chapter. You make it easy to sympathize with T'Pol in this point of her life. I like how you tie Soval in here and I look forward to seeing how you develop this story.



Author's Response:

And there is much more to come... Thanks for the review and for being such a great beta.

You must login (register) to review.