You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: Kotik Signed [Report This]
Date: September 04, 2011 02:46 am Title: Good Things Come To Those Who...

Finally :-D

As much as one wishes to strangle the skunk, it's hard not to comiserate with Koss. He genuinely likes T'Pol, but knows that he hasn't got a snowballs chance in hell of keeping her without making her discontent. One has to question his self-respect though. Tradition or not, I would never let my ol' folks run roughshod over me, like he allowed his ancestors.



Author's Response:

I have an entire Koss POV version of "Home" and the Vulcan arc. One of these days, perhaps. (I don't think many people are interested in deconstructing Koss and understanding him.) I wanted to figure him out, the way I figured out Soval and mindmelding and Syrran/Surak/Archer. I think he is a well-meaning, tragic character, manipulated by his scheming parents in the name of family responsiblity. And he really did have affection for T'Pol, more's the pity. I like to think he found the right girl after giving T'Pol up, because he would have deserved a contented life.

Thanks for the reviews, I really enjoyed them. :)

Reviewer: Kotik Signed [Report This]
Date: September 04, 2011 02:02 am Title: Loss

Too bad, you can't bottle the sweetness of this chapter - you'd be filthy rich if you sold the stuff. Of course there's the evil cliffhanger, but thankfully we all saw on screnn, why Koss dropped by. We're headed for the ultimate moment. :-)



Author's Response:

The characters on this show have each experienced horrific loss and grief, but we didn't get much chance to see the consequences (other than something like the weird out-of-character petulance on display in "Daedalus," or a quick wrapup before getting on to the next episode. So that was part of why I wrote this. Also, in the same way Trip was there for T'Pol in "Reaching Out," he was there for her in the aftermath of her mother's death. They love each other, but before the love, there was the friendship, which made everything else possible, in my opinion.

Reviewer: Kotik Signed [Report This]
Date: September 03, 2011 09:26 pm Title: Fallout

Short, but sweet one, this.

I liked T'Pol's mental rant about Surak!Archer and the influence of Syrran. Really well done.

The talk between Mal and Trip was almost hillarious. I can almost see, how Trip starts ranting and confesses everything. You captured Malcolm's distinct Britishness in his talk as well. And now on to my very favourite chapter :-D



Author's Response:

Thank you! Honestly, when I first saw "Kir'Shara," I didn't think Archer was the overbearing limelight-grabber that detractors saw. I suppose I was already seeing the situation the way T'Pol looks at it in this chapter. :D

I haven't done much with Malcolm, but I got a chance with this scene. The Malcolm/Trip talk in the ready room on the show made me think about how Trip juggles friendships and command structure with both Archer and Malcolm, and does well at both, though it is quite a tightrope to walk. I admire that.

Trip's rant to Malcolm was, unbeknownst to me, only a preview of his tortured explanations yet to come, ha.

Reviewer: Kotik Signed [Report This]
Date: September 03, 2011 09:12 pm Title: The Answer

The flashback is so sad, but also brilliant in showing, where the affection between Karyn and Lorian originated. You've really created a brilliant background to the E2 characters. you've won another steadfast worshipper for your K/L club.



Author's Response:

Welcome to the L/K shippers club! We're happy to have you!

Lorian's backstory has so much potential to be explored (which I did, a lot), and L/K is the kind of "joy rising from the ashes" story that I gravitate toward. This chapter is one of my favorite all-time. I'm glad you enjoyed it. Thank you.

 

Reviewer: Kotik Signed [Report This]
Date: September 03, 2011 08:54 pm Title: Echoes

More Soval goodness, yay :-)

The chemistry between ol' uncle and Trip just keeps getting better and better. One can almost feel, how Trip starts to embrace the idea of ex-Ambassdor Cranky as a good friend.

The mind-meld was breathtakingly beautifully written, it radiated a real sense of closure, before the grim reaper took poor T'Les. Too bad you didn't keep her alive :-(



Author's Response:

From what we saw of Trip and Soval, there was a lot of potential for years of great friendship and good-natured sparring between them. (I also wish we had seen more interplay between Archer and Soval, after they realized they were on the same side. I think it would have been great fun, along the lines of the Archer/Shran back-and-forth.) The Family dynamic just kind of came together as the series progressed and the characters (in the Reconnecting-verse, anyway) got to know each other better.

I wrote the mind-meld because T'Les's end on the show was just too sad and cruel for both her and T'Pol, with so much left unresolved. They had earned a good parting, so I did my best to give them one. I never considered keeping T'Les alive, though the "guest star dies" syndrome is not my favorite TV device. I always wanted Reconnecting to dovetail back into the series arc at major points. My only indulgence was the whole E2 storyline, and that's because I think Lorian's crew could have returned in Season 5, and it would have been really interesting to see the fallout. :)

Reviewer: Kotik Signed [Report This]
Date: September 03, 2011 08:40 pm Title: Eye To Eye

Such a great character chapter. It's difficult to write a compelling story without any gut-wrenching angst to torture the reader with or hair-raising action to keep the audience on the edge of their seats. You are woderfully skilled in that art.

This sort of writing is right down my alley and getting it so right as you do is still the ideal I strive to match one day.

Am I gushing...?



Author's Response:

Yeah, I couldn't write a big action story to save my life, but I can spend all day peeling apart a character like an onion. I'm interested in what motivates people's actions, why they think the way they think. One thing about Enterprise was that they'd show us the actions, but not really spend a lot of time delving into all the reasons why. I think that's why I enjoyed writing missing scenes and backstory so much.

Sure, it's TV, it's sci-fi targeting the young male demographic, yeah yeah. But knowing what makes a character tick is the key to the whole shebang, no matter what your story's about-- at least, that's the way I approach storytelling.

Thank you for your kind words. :)

 

Reviewer: Kotik Signed [Report This]
Date: September 03, 2011 08:28 pm Title: Truths

Soval for pres... - oh wait, we had that already

I liked the chemistry between Trip and Soval on the show, and you went ahead and made it even better. Soval as the cantankerous ol' uncle, now that's a hoot :-)

You also managed to give a much better reason for V'Las to go after the syrranites, almost logical in a roundabout way. Brilliant chapter.



Author's Response:

I wanted to be able to explain the whole persecution-of-melders thing. Once I got started, it sort of all fell into place--the VHC's powermongering and deceptions, the ability of melding to determine the truth... Powerful entities keep secrets for reasons that benefit themselves, but not always for the good of society. To think Soval is in the unique position of being a member of the VHC, and also a melder--it was delicious to examine that more closely. And yes, it firmed up V'Las's obsession with blaming and stamping out the Syrrannites, who were melders.

I know there are fans who didn't care for these "early" Vulcans--their duplicitousness, their thirst for power and control. But I found them really compelling. Forrest's explanation to Soval at the beginning of "The Forge" summed it up perfectly.

Reviewer: Kotik Signed [Report This]
Date: September 03, 2011 08:12 pm Title: Legacies

must.not.gush

The induction ceremony is moving. Especially with the underlying sadness that it should have been Forrest in Gardners place, makes it very powerful, emotionally.The thing that I don't really understand is, why Starfleet wants to keep E2 a secret - I mean someone's bound to notice the ridge on Lt. Archer's forehead and her last name is as subtle as a garlic sandwich. People are going to notice.

Brent Spiners acting was sublime in the Augment arc and so is your way of putting him into your story. His exceeding intelligence and arrogance are captured very well.  I couldn't stop myself from grinning smugly, how Lorian and Karyn play cat and mouse with him.



Author's Response:

I really missed Admiral Forrest after they killed him off. What a shame that we didn't get a chance to see the real partnership between him and Soval. But hey, that's why there's fanfiction.

Soong basically muscled his way into the story-- naturally, he wanted some limelight for himself. What a fascinating character! And I think he and Phlox would have made great foils. But he was humanized there at the end of the Augment arc, having lost his beloved children, which made him a much more accessible character for me, because I could understand him better. Grief changes a person and his view of the world, irrevocably.

As for explaining Starfleet's secrecy about the origin of E2... the government is famous for not making sense, and keeping a straight face while doing so.  Section 31, and the mindset of government black-project compartmentalization, were my inspiration. Time travel? What's that? ;)

Reviewer: Kotik Signed [Report This]
Date: September 03, 2011 07:45 pm Title: Flying Pigs

Soval for president - again! I can't stop myself from rooting for the ol' hack. I really like your version of Reformed!Soval, he's a fantasticly complex character.

your continuing analogies, how hell gradually turns into Andoria had me in stitches.



Author's Response:

As I have mentioned elsewhere, it was great fun for me to take Soval's transformation in the Vulcan arc and back-engineer it to explore his relationship with Forrest, with the VHC, the secrets he harbored, the person he really was behind the arrogant mask. And writing from a Vulcan's POV, whether T'Pol or Soval, got more fun each time I took a whack at it. Throw in Trip as he tries to figure Soval out, and, well, no wonder this story ended up being my longest up to this point.

Reviewer: Kotik Signed [Report This]
Date: September 03, 2011 07:33 pm Title: Aftershock

Ah, the bestest chapter in Book I takes off :-)

Poor Archer. Just as he starts to heal from the Expanse, he's getting slapped with the tragedy stick again, but Karyn to the rescue! As in the chapters before, the scenes with Archer and Karyn are exceptionally well written. This is the most likeable Archer I've seen in fanfiction.

The family in Engineering. Drat, didn't get tickets to that. Again your talent to bring a scene to life shines through. Nicely written.



Author's Response:

I love all these stories for different reasons, but this one, focused on the Vulcan arc, was an especially fulfilling endeavor for me. There are a lot of themes here that I visit often, about loss, grief, family, building emotional connections...plus I got a chance to view these episodes in a way the show didn't have a chance to, focusing on character rather than lickety-split action. Of course, it helped that the characters kept telling me what to write. ;) Glad to hear you enjoyed it too.

And did I mention that I love Archer? :D We got a sense on the show that he had a lot of respect for Admiral Forrest, and it seemed a natural extrapolation for me to assume that Forrest mentored him and served as one of his (several) surrogate fathers. And I think Archer would have been a terrific dad, hence my happy focus on Archer and Karyn.

Reviewer: Brandyjane Signed [Report This]
Date: July 21, 2011 02:47 am Title: Good Things Come To Those Who...

First, poor Koss! As much as I like loathing that skunk, I think I enjoy pitying him even more. You really did make sense of a lot of the plot holes left in "Home" regarding his motivations for marrying T'Pol. Your explanation makes perfect sense.

 

Second, the happy ending for Trip and T'Pol has left me grinning like an idiot.



Author's Response:

Hee hee, my work is done then. :)

Poor Koss needed a makeover. He was such a contrived and ill-used plot device, when he could have been a much more complex character. At the end of the Vulcan arc, the way he was dragged in and then written out, I was really motivated to figure out some backstory that would explain all this inconsistent behavior.

Thank you!

Reviewer: Brandyjane Signed [Report This]
Date: July 21, 2011 02:37 am Title: Loss

I wish it was not AU that Trip asked T'Pol to teach him about Surak and the Kirshara. Trip and T'Pol's complicated relationship for most of season four would have been a whole lot more palatable that way!



Author's Response:

I've always thought that the best way to learn something well is to teach it to someone else. And it would have been interesting for Trip to be exposed to Vulcan philosophy in this way. The way the show did it--Trip dismissing the Kir'Shara in that scene in Engineering--felt all kinds of wrong to me. Then again, the show wasn't focused on Trip and T'Pol remaining friends... In times like these, AU is better than nuthin'. ;)

Reviewer: Brandyjane Signed [Report This]
Date: July 21, 2011 02:24 am Title: Fallout

I enjoyed this insight into how T'Pol views "Surak-Archer."



Author's Response:

I am not a writer--I am a re-writer. I spend a lot of time refining. This story is one of those rare gems that came out practically ready to go on the first try, with very little tweaking. Oh, to be Mozart all the time. :)

I was highly motivated, I'll admit: Archer got bashed pretty badly for his behavior in "Kir'Shara," and I love Archer, so I needed to figure out what was going on. Plus, it's fun to rattle around inside T'Pol's head--her perspective is often enlightening.

Thanks for your comments!

Reviewer: Brandyjane Signed [Report This]
Date: July 21, 2011 02:14 am Title: The Answer

You are so talented! It's almost hard to remember that Lorian and Karyn were only in one episode, and that we don't really know much about them. You have created such a rich back story, and you've really fleshed out their personalities. I am looking forward to reading your E2 series after I finish the "Reconnecting" stories. Before this I never cared much about "E2," (well, other than the fact that Lorian is hot!) but now I can't get enough!

Author's Response:

I totally agree with you about Lorian being hot. :)

This is one of those chapters that insisted on being written, and it's one of my favorites. I'm happy you enjoyed it, thank you! I wrote the "E2" stories to fit in with both the canon stories and the Reconnecting-verse, so they all complement each other. I look forward to hearing your thoughts on the "E2" stories.

Reviewer: Brandyjane Signed [Report This]
Date: July 16, 2011 03:36 am Title: Aftershock

One of my favorite things you've done with this series is to give Archer a daughter. The way you've written his relationship with Karyn is beautiful!



Author's Response:

Scott Bakula made it very easy for me to imagine that Archer would embrace Karyn and become her surrogate father. They only had the one scene together in "E2," but it was so sweet.

Thank you so much for your comments!

You must login (register) to review.