You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: Kotik Signed [Report This]
Date: September 01, 2011 07:06 am Title: Chapter 6

Wow, if Lorian falls for someone, he surely doesn't do it in a half-arsed fashion :) Seeing Trip and T'Pol take up their roles as surrogate parents was delightful, too and poor Archer - always one step too late to bet up-to-date with the latest developments. Wonderful chapter :-)



Author's Response:

I'm glad you enjoyed it, thank you! I waffled back and forth a lot before deciding to add it to the story, and it turned out to be one of my favorites.

Reviewer: Kotik Signed [Report This]
Date: September 01, 2011 06:40 am Title: Chapter 5

I don't even know where to begin with this. I think it is safe to say that you're one of the most talented people out there, when it comes to romance - to steal a line from T'Pol - so much is obvious. But now you add a splash of humour in the mix that still gives me a giggle-fit, even after the umpteenth re-read.

From Lorians logical and scientific deduction to prove that he is -indeed- falling in love to the downright hillarious exchange between Trip and T'Pol about her having taught Lorian to dance :-D You can almost feel, how Archer has a vuja-de - not a deja-vu - a vuja-de - the feeling that none of this has ever happened before. (stole that one from George Carlin)

Seeing Archer heal before our eyes is a delight, too.



Author's Response:

Aww, you're making me all blushy and stuff. :) Thank you.

Vuja-de - priceless!

Reviewer: Kotik Signed [Report This]
Date: September 01, 2011 05:34 am Title: Chapter 4

The rekindled chemistry between the "Big Three" is really nice to see and Archer's easy acceptance of their relationship is the icing on the cake. You know, you should really put this story in print and sell it as a therapeutic measure for heartbroken TnT shippers. God, was the 4th season so poisoned by all the contrived and dragged out TnT angst. They should have filmed this, but I guess the producers just didn't have the cojones to show a real romance. I think it would have done the ratings more good than a naked T'Mir behind a bed sheet.

Reviewer: Kotik Signed [Report This]
Date: September 01, 2011 05:14 am Title: Chapter 3

Where do I sign up for that K/L club of yours ? :) A wonderfully fluffy chapter with really nice scenes. The only thing that felt a bit strange to me was the 'Vulcanness' of Lorian. His manner of speaking is closer to T'Pol than it is to Trip, which is not what I recall from the TV episode. He used contractions and IIRC he even had a slight drawl.

But that's a minor niggle in a nice chapter.



Author's Response:

Another L/K shipper! :D

I've seen a variety of versions of Lorian-- there's lots of latitude there. My take is based on the backstory I developed for him (see "Childhood Is the Kingdom Where Nobody Dies"), which explains his "Vulcanness." Also, I think I was influenced by the choices Spock made in TOS, to adopt a Vulcan demeanor, probably to aid in his control over his emotions. YMMV, of course.

I think I was sort of jarred by T'Pol's casual way of speaking at times in Enterprise. I've probably made her more Vulcan in my stories than she is on the show. ;)

Reviewer: Kotik Signed [Report This]
Date: September 01, 2011 01:11 am Title: Chapter 2

Soval for president :-) The change is a tad abrupt, but so it was on the actual show. At least here it doesn't come completely out of left field. I really like your explanation of Reformed!Soval.

The only thing that somehow seems to be missing is that Trip and Lorian never spoke about Lorian's raid of Enterprise. Afterall he shot his ol' man. Hearing about the pains that Trip/T'Pol went through to have him is really heartbreaking.



Author's Response:

Soval was a fun adversary in the first 3 seasons, but I really began to appreciate him with his makeover in the Vulcan arc. I just wish Admiral Forrest had still been around, so we could get a look at their partnership with this new insight. I made up for that by writing chapters like this one, and the prequel "Memorable."

I eventually addressed Trip vs. Lorian in "E2" in a later standalone story: see "The Price."

Reviewer: Kotik Signed [Report This]
Date: August 31, 2011 09:02 pm Title: Chapter 1

I like the direction you're taking Archer to. He really takes comfort from his new-found family and pretty much any scene with him any Karyn are sweet as candy. I also like that he's secretly rooting for TnT to get together. Quite a departure from the jealous wreck he's been described as in many other stories.

One can really feel the strain on Trip and T'Pol to refrain from acting on the feelings they've mutually admitted to. It gives the whole thing a bittersweet feeling, but also a powerful sense of hope. Brilliantly written.



Author's Response:

Thanks for the kind words! Archer's loneliness and longing for a family revealed itself as I progressed, and Karyn seemed to be good medicine for him. Perhaps this was my way of rebelling against the "captains marry their ships" adage, and the Archer bio seen for a flash in "In a Mirror, Darkly" that had him living out his long life alone, which seemed somehow unfair to me. And as I've said elsewhere, jealous!Archer never seemed to fit the character as I saw him on the show. Bakula gave him so much warmth and compassion that it felt better to see him wanting Trip and T'Pol to have a happy ending.

As for Trip and T'Pol...it's pretty obvious which way I would have taken the storyline had I been on the writing staff. ;) Perhaps it would have gotten in the way of the sci-fi action show that Enterprise became in Season 4, but it seemed a more natural progression from the setup in Season 3.

Reviewer: Aquarius Signed [Report This]
Date: July 21, 2011 11:31 am Title: Chapter 6

Awwww! I'm so happy for Lorian and Karyn here. Great story! You know how to make a reader sublimely happy.

Author's Response:

Wow, thank you so much! I originally intended Chapter 5 to be the end of "Each Touch a Promise," but my muse started nudging me, and well, there you have it. Very interesting to figure out how Lorian would experience pon farr. I was still in PG-13 mode at this point in my fanfiction career, and didn't have the guts to do the pon farr storyline full out...but I made up for it later. ;)

Reviewer: Aquarius Signed [Report This]
Date: July 21, 2011 11:04 am Title: Chapter 5

That noise you're hearing? That's me squeeing.

Reviewer: Aquarius Signed [Report This]
Date: July 21, 2011 10:46 am Title: Chapter 4

That just made me all shippy and melty. Thank you.

Author's Response:

Thank you! I had a lot of fun putting a more positive spin on the "Romeo and Juliet" moment than the tragically sad moment we saw in "The Augments." I've read a lot of stories in which Archer is clueless about Trip and T'Pol's romance, or is seething with jealousy. But I think of the Big Three as best friends, so the Archer I see in my mind would totally figure it out, and share in their happiness.

Rewriting episodes is SO fun, ha.

Reviewer: Aquarius Signed [Report This]
Date: July 21, 2011 10:24 am Title: Chapter 3

What a sweet chapter. I like this budding romance!

Author's Response:

And the L/K shipper club grows! Wheeee!

The attraction between Lorian and Karyn -- well, Karyn's attraction for Lorian, anyway -- wrote itself in "The Land of Might-Have-Been" without me having much say in the matter, lol. I think I gravitated toward developing this romance because the T/T relationship had already developed on the show, and I didn't see a way to do a "falling in love" story with them. And I really love the "falling in love" part of a relationship.

Reviewer: Aquarius Signed [Report This]
Date: July 21, 2011 05:30 am Title: Chapter 2

I liked this chapter, for the view of Lorian's parents' relationship through his own eyes! Look forward to reading more between clients at work today! :-)



Author's Response:

Thanks! The more I wrote about Lorian, the more his past took shape in my mind -- a lot more than I ever wrote down in a story. He really came alive for me.

Reviewer: Brandyjane Signed [Report This]
Date: July 15, 2011 07:55 am Title: Chapter 6

Okay, now I totally ship Lorien and Karyn because of you!



Author's Response:

Yay, another convert to the little L/K shipper club! :D

I don't know exactly why Lorian got under my skin...his tragic past, most likely. After seeing him so tortured in "E2," I just wanted him to be happy. (So did Karyn.)

Thanks for reading!

Reviewer: Aquarius Signed [Report This]
Date: July 10, 2011 03:08 pm Title: Chapter 1

*flails* OMG! It's been so long since I've yelled "DO IT ALREADY!!!" at my screen! Thank you for this exercise in...patience. LOL



Author's Response:

ROFL! Now you see why I asked for the "UST" keyword.

You must login (register) to review.