Reviews For For Our Children
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: Honeybee Signed [Report This]
Date: July 22, 2011 04:16 pm Title: Chapter 29

This is just a great story. You should be proud of your work. The Archer/Degra friendship is truly touching here - and I share Archer's hope that their children will be friends.

Author's Response:

Thanks so much! I'm glad you enjoyed it. I loved writing it; it offered such a wonderful opportunity to explore their values and hopes for the future.

Reviewer: Aquarius Signed [Report This]
Date: July 12, 2011 06:40 am Title: Chapter 2

One advantage to Degra being a scientist--he'll respect Archer's thiniking outside of the box and contacting him. Very true to character.



Author's Response:

Yes, Degra showed a strong curious streak and he would be one to want to respond to this kind of overture.

Reviewer: Aquarius Signed [Report This]
Date: July 12, 2011 05:23 am Title: Chapter 1

Wow! What a neat idea--using communiqués to tell the story! Can't wait to see what else comes out through this interesting approach.



Author's Response:

Thanks! It just seemed the best way to tell their story, since there were limited opportunities for face-to-face meetings. Glad you're enjoying it.

Reviewer: Honeybee Signed [Report This]
Date: July 11, 2011 04:07 pm Title: Chapter 15

I am very much enjoying this story. You really do well at the different voices, as well as capturing what the writer might be thinking, as well as saying. This is a very fine story.  



Author's Response:

Thanks very much.  I'm glad you're enjoying it!

Reviewer: Honeybee Signed [Report This]
Date: July 11, 2011 01:11 am Title: Chapter 13

I really appreciate how you've captured Degra's thoughts and his feelings of responsibility here. Nice job. 



Author's Response:

Thanks very much. I find him a fascinating and complex character and really enjoy exploring his thoughts.

Reviewer: kayjayuu Signed [Report This]
Date: July 09, 2011 07:15 pm Title: Chapter 8

Eep! Archer's heart must have fallen a thousand feet on recieving this.

But still Degra reveals a deep connection and consideration of his "enemy's" feelings, so we see there's still a chance at resolution. I feel for them both.

Reviewer: kayjayuu Signed [Report This]
Date: July 09, 2011 07:10 pm Title: Chapter 7

Oh nice twist with Archer's wondering about the translation of "partner". Archer and Reed have such a strong and understated bond in S3, it can't help but be evident to those who would look. Nice parallel.

Reviewer: kayjayuu Signed [Report This]
Date: July 09, 2011 07:01 pm Title: Chapter 6

Good to see that there really is an Adams-esque feel to Degra and Naara... perhaps there's a hidden gem of correspondence from her as well? *crosses fingers*

I love that Degra thinks in terms of how the potential wrongness of his choice could brand her in terms of him for the rest of her life. Very devoted, he is.

Reviewer: kayjayuu Signed [Report This]
Date: July 09, 2011 06:52 pm Title: Chapter 5

Since I don't "remember" some details of S3, I can't remember how much time had passed before Archer heard from Degra, and I can only assume what was going through his head from the gap in time.

I also love this part: We share a risk now... so if I still cannot call you friend, at least we have that risk in common and I would not term you an enemy.

Again, a correlary relationship, and a very good insight into the hesitant psychology of detente.

Reviewer: kayjayuu Signed [Report This]
Date: July 09, 2011 06:44 pm Title: Chapter 4

You manage to use phrases, rhythm, and cadence in such a way that Degra even sounds like he's from a differing culture/planet... "I will ask one thing of you", "With the warmth of memory"... it's like dipping into another civilization that parallels our own and yet has its own vocabulary and context for it.

Like reading a precise translation of a foreign language.

And it's interesting to see what sounds like a John/Abigail Adams-esqe relationship spring from the pages of a letter. I hope to see that I'm right! :D

Reviewer: kayjayuu Signed [Report This]
Date: July 09, 2011 06:38 pm Title: Chapter 3

>>My people have an expression similar to yours. It is simply know your enemy. I would prefer to take that as an indicator of a commonality between our two cultures rather than as a statement of the relationship between us.<<

I love the correlary relationship between these two statements. Very much something Archer would say and think.

Reviewer: kayjayuu Signed [Report This]
Date: July 09, 2011 06:32 pm Title: Chapter 2

You really capture Degra's voice well; I can clearly hear him.

And no pressure, Captain. Being Mr. Wordy, he has one more shot to pique Degra's interest and say the right things!

Reviewer: kayjayuu Signed [Report This]
Date: July 09, 2011 06:28 pm Title: Chapter 1

I like the way this one is starting out, in an unconventional fashion.

One has to wonder how diplomatic discussions get started when either distance or politics prevents it from happening. Archer has the advantage of knowing a name and the potential for motivation to talk that unfortunately only happens in TV shows and not in real life.



Author's Response:

Thank you. I thought that having a potential way to contact someone like Degra, it's not unreasonable that Archer might try to explore a diplomatic option.

You must login (register) to review.