You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: asearcher Signed [Report This]
Date: July 05, 2011 08:00 pm Title: Chapter 2: Living

Definitely a story for the ages.  In this world all is right and good...or will be.  Thanks for the great read.



Author's Response:

Thank you! I'm glad it was a worthwhile read, I definitely enjoyed writing it.

Reviewer: Honeybee Signed [Report This]
Date: July 03, 2011 07:04 pm Title: Chapter 2: Living

Just beautiful! A great wrap up to a bittersweet story! Very strong writing.



Author's Response:

Thank you. I'm really glad you enjoyed it.

Reviewer: Aquarius Signed [Report This]
Date: June 22, 2011 10:06 pm Title: Chapter 2: Living

Intense! It will be interesting to see where this goes, since neither is the same man any more.

Author's Response:

I don't know if there will be anymore, I liked leaving it so open-ended but with the faintest touch of resolution. But I am very fond of this universe and Malcolm's bloody house, so who knows. Maybe one day in the future. Thank you for reading.

Reviewer: kayjayuu Signed [Report This]
Date: June 21, 2011 06:38 pm Title: Chapter 1: Remembering

What a treat to have this waiting for me after working! :D

Your descriptions bring me into the rooms with them, and out into the woods. I had no idea that Malcolm had been gone all night but of course, Jon figured it out! That Malcolm would continue to refuse Jon's help -- any help, really, beyond what he felt was necessary -- is so very much in character. Fine, he says.

That he gives in when Jon tentatively takes control and tells him he needs help is also still very much Malcolm.

I was surprised and delighted that Malcolm wanted Jon to stay as he slept. And the ending was certainly much much more than I expected to see happen... still allowing for a bit of angst but much hope.

They need each other. They always will.

Thank you for this!

Reviewer: Mareel Signed [Report This]
Date: June 21, 2011 04:49 pm Title: Chapter 1: Remembering

I love this.  The first part is so painful to read - Malcolm has had a long time to think about things and his words hit Jonathan just where he is most vulnerable.

I really like the subtle progression over the course of the story in the way Jonathan is thinking about/referring to Malcolm as they find their way back - from 'my former officer' to 'my old friend' to his lover and his partner. I see this as mirroring the ways in which we see Malcolm slowly trusting Jon with more of himself, both physically and emotionally.

Thank you so much for sharing this!

Reviewer: asearcher Signed [Report This]
Date: June 08, 2011 08:55 pm Title: Chapter 1: Remembering

Wow!  Quite a setup and so much between them pointed to but not said.  It says complete...but certainly that's not so?  I want to know what will happen between them...and perhap see them come to closure (comfortable or not).  Thanks for the view of this world.



Author's Response:

Thank you for reading and enjoying my work. I hope the ending does not disappoint.

Reviewer: bluetiger Signed [Report This]
Date: June 04, 2011 12:00 pm Title: Chapter 1: Remembering

That is a lot of bitterness and hurt on Malcolm's part. Making a life for himself in his comfortable home with his bees to keep is not much solice it seems. What on earth caused this horrible rift? From what we see, it dosen't appear that Jon will ever be forgiven.

We need more of this wonderful story!



Author's Response:

Forgiveness is going to take a lot of time and a lot of trust, but it is possible. I really hope the ending is to your liking.

Reviewer: Mistress Euclid Signed [Report This]
Date: May 31, 2011 09:34 pm Title: Chapter 1: Remembering

You've done a lovely job of setting this up, Mr. Smith. The pain is just palpable. I hope Malcolm can see his way toward forgiving Jon, but from the details of the situation, it would be understandable if he didn't.

I can't wait for the next chapter!



Author's Response:

Receiving such a compliment from you means a lot to me, ME. I really hope the ending does not disappoint.

Reviewer: kayjayuu Signed [Report This]
Date: May 31, 2011 08:55 pm Title: Chapter 1: Remembering

Mr. Smith, this is simply wonderful. Your description of the house and the grounds so clear, I feel as if I'm there. The way the house filled up the silence reminds me of so many older houses I've lived or stayed in.

Malcolm is certainly hurt by Jon's misstep. I hope they are able to come to terms with everything in one way or another, but we'll see, I suppose. This pairing lends itself so well to angst. They balance each other out so naturally that it's just as easy to lose that balance due to action or words by either one. And despite being at odds for whatever reason, there's always a connection between them. Even after years.

Waiting for the next chapter. Bravo!



Author's Response:

I have a not-so-secret love for depicting my fond sentiments of Britain in my Malcolm-centric fanfiction, and this house happened to be the result in this particular instance. It's based on a combination of places I've been and haven't been, set in the green green countryside, but not too far from one of our charming little rural villages with more old old buildings... Oops, I got carried away again. I'm glad I managed to breathe life into it in such a way that resonated with you. Thank you.

I really hope you enjoy the ending, it's a resolution... of sorts, but I'm now terrified it'll be rather inadequate.

Reviewer: Honeybee Signed [Report This]
Date: May 31, 2011 06:34 pm Title: Chapter 1: Remembering

First, this is obviously going to be a special story to me, because of the bees, of course.

Secondly, this is just heartbreaking. I've rarely seen a fic with a ship this pushed, yet not feeling all melodramatic. This feels authentically sorrowful. You do that so well! I cannot wait for the next chapter.



Author's Response:

I would have loved to have given the bees a greater role as they were one of my favourite elements, but as it was, the story took a different direction. But that's not to say I can't visit this world again.

I'm so glad you don't think it's melodramatic, so hard to straddle that line. Thank you.

Reviewer: Aquarius Signed [Report This]
Date: May 31, 2011 06:26 pm Title: Chapter 1: Remembering

Poor Malcolm! Jon clearly feels bad, but it sounds like he should!



Author's Response:

Jon's been punishing himself too, so maybe he deserves a break... possibly.

You must login (register) to review.