You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: Mistress Euclid Signed [Report This]
Date: July 02, 2011 08:14 am Title: Chapter 9

A beautiful ending to an utterly beautifully written story! This was a terrific read, and I loved figuring out who was who among the minor players. I thought you two major romances were captivating. Amazing job. 

Reviewer: Kathy Rose Signed [Report This]
Date: July 01, 2011 12:15 am Title: Chapter 9

Wonderful! A very satisfying conclusion. I've enjoyed this story very much, and I commend you on all the historical background that you put into it. It was quite entertaining and had a very authentic feel.

Brava!

Reviewer: bluetiger Signed [Report This]
Date: June 30, 2011 03:35 pm Title: Chapter 9

Well that was just glorious. The weddings were wonderful and a perfect final chapter. I was moved by Paola's wedding night nerves. So many times young women did not know what was going to happen. At least Estrella gave her the facts and I'm sure Carlo would be very gentle. This lovely ending for all makes me very happy. Great work as usual my dear.

Reviewer: Honeybee Signed [Report This]
Date: June 30, 2011 01:46 pm Title: Chapter 9

A true romance should end with a wedding, right? And a double wedding? What better way? 

Thank you so much for letting me beta this! It was a great pleasure to read, and I commend you for doing such fantastic research as well as transporting all our heroes (and villains) into this setting. All our characters stayed true to their essences and were recognizable. The wedding night of Paola and Carlo was note perfect as well!

I love your description of the ceremony, the clothes and the dancing. And I loved that we ended on Jon and Eriana, who played the very Shakespearean role as the "royal" couple at the center of the action. 

Reviewer: Kathy Rose Signed [Report This]
Date: June 27, 2011 01:29 am Title: Chapter 8

Great ending! I have enjoyed this story very much, with the couples discovering their love for each other, and the guys having to take part in the duel to keep their loves safe. The best line: He was willing to die for Paola, but this circumstance required him to live for her. That really does explain Carlo's predicament at the moment.

Once more, your attention to historical detail is incredible. You set the stage for the duel perfectly, and although I am not acquainted with the technical aspects of a sword fight, your descriptions enabled me to see them very clearly, like I was one of the spectators.

 

Reviewer: bluetiger Signed [Report This]
Date: June 25, 2011 03:58 pm Title: Chapter 8

That was indeed an exciting duel. You did include many familiar characters in this chapter. All the different fights were very well done. Of course that snake Kosso would try to kill Carlo after he had lost. Now hopefully, Carlo and Paola can be together as are Malcolm and Estrella. This is a very good story.

Reviewer: Dinah Signed [Report This]
Date: June 25, 2011 03:40 am Title: Chapter 8

I have to congratulate you. The duel was very well written.  There was a lot of action and the details were spot on.  You were juggling a lot of characters and you did it beautifully.  Obviously I'm glad that Kosso and his cronies were defeated, but proving him once again to be dishonorable was just icing on the cake.

This chater really was excellent.  Very well done!

Reviewer: Honeybee Signed [Report This]
Date: June 24, 2011 06:09 am Title: Chapter 8

Super exciting stuff! I'm very glad Carlo won, and that there were no casualities on team Hernandez. Great to see everyone coming together, like the end of a Shakespearean comedy. Terific to see Kosso go down, and a glimpse of Traveo's happy family.

Reviewer: Kathy Rose Signed [Report This]
Date: June 22, 2011 03:04 am Title: Chapter 7

Oh, wow! A duel! Of course Kosso's not going to fight fair.

The use of Forrest as the Cardinal was inspired. You keep fitting more and more characters in your story, which is wonderful.

I do like Traveo's scenes, when told from his POV. It's kind of an "from the outside looking in" method of storytelling about what's going on with the main characters.

I had to laugh as I was reading about everyone knowing that something had happened between Malcolm and Estrella -- except Paola thinking surely they didn't. Heh!

As usual, I'm impressed by the background and detail of this era that you work into your story. Nicely done!

Reviewer: Kathy Rose Signed [Report This]
Date: June 22, 2011 02:46 am Title: Chapter 6

*thud* I'm speechless. That last scene was so... so... so... HOT!

Clever plot development, letting us know some of Lady Eriana's plans, getting us tangled up in what they're doing, then...Wham! You hit us with Malcolm and Estrella.

Carlo's listing of what he'd like to do to Kosso was hilarious. At first, I was worried he'd actually do something and ruin the plan, but he kept thinking of new ways to do Kosso in!

So true, that a parent is often the last to accept that their child may have faults.

Reviewer: Dinah Signed [Report This]
Date: June 21, 2011 11:44 am Title: Chapter 7

You've done a marvelous job of maintaining a very "Italian" feel to your story.  And yet the Enterprise characters are still recognizable. 

You've left us with quite a cliffhanger.  I can't wait to see what happens next.  A duel.  Great stuff!

Reviewer: bluetiger Signed [Report This]
Date: June 18, 2011 03:24 pm Title: Chapter 7

I'm glad that Carlo will get the chance to fight for the woman he loves. The evidence should have been enough but those were the days when swords settled many a dispute. Here's hoping Carlo survives to claim the lovely Paola.

PS. Shame on you, Malcolm. Eriana will no doubt be giving you what for.



Author's Response:

Yes, Eriana will give Malcolm a dressing-down, but he'll do something that'll help ease her anger. :-D And while Eriana bends the rules when it suits her, there are some instances when she's pretty traditionally-minded. It'll turn out all right in the end, BT. And Kosso will have to deal with the situation he's boxed himself in. 

Reviewer: Aquarius Signed [Report This]
Date: June 18, 2011 12:22 pm Title: Chapter 7

Such a squee-worthy chapter! One thing that strikes me: I imagine that the cast of the show would've had so much fun playing these roles. It's a great story. And I hope Carlo skewers Kosso's ass to kingdom come.



Author's Response:

Yeah, can you imagine Connor in a Venetian get-up? LOL! And I think Jolene and Linda would be awesome in those gowns.

And don't worry, Kosso will get his. 

Reviewer: Aquarius Signed [Report This]
Date: June 18, 2011 11:10 am Title: Chapter 6

Man, I was wishing Carlo would punch Kosso in the nose!

Estrella + Malcolm = hawt!



Author's Response:

Yeah, Carlo wishes he could've too. *evil laugh*

Estrella and Malcolm's relationship is similar to Paola and Carlo's but there are significant differences. And sometimes...things happen, whether you mean them to or not.

Reviewer: Honeybee Signed [Report This]
Date: June 18, 2011 10:49 am Title: Chapter 7

Holy cliffhanger! This is truly edge-of-your-seat stuff. I'm really impressed by your level of research, everything from the clothes Paola sews to the nature of the dual to the way the Cardinal behaves rings true. Malcolm better marry Estrella, and soon, as her honor is at stake. I'm also very concerned that while Paola and Carlo, assuming he wins the dual, have a measure of safety and protection from the law - I'm not so sure about Estrella and Malcolm. I'm afraid they might have some serious targets on their back.



Author's Response:

Thanks...I really wanted to keep it as close to the time period as possible, with a little leeway for dramatic effect. Malcolm will honor tradition (spoilers!), and yes, he and Estrella are still in significant danger. Although some traditions don't make any sense, there are others that will be their salvation (for both couples).

Reviewer: Honeybee Signed [Report This]
Date: June 16, 2011 12:35 pm Title: Chapter 6

Okay, of course the Reed/"Estrella" stuff is just lush and romantic, but I just love, love, love Carlo's scene with Kosso. Brilliant. I also love the conceit that Paola sews and take pride in it. It reminds me of the movie about Keats and Fanny Brawne, where she's portrayed as expressing herself creatively through sewing, one of the only creative outlets for women of the time. 



Author's Response:

Yeah, I wanted Carlo to have that inner monologue to help him focus on his goal and not splat Kosso all over the carpet!

I've seen that movie, and yes, that was meant as a nod! :-D A lot of the textile arts of those times were lavishly beautiful and intricate...because it WAS one of the only ways women could be creative (not to say there were other ways, but this was one of the more culturally acceptable)

Reviewer: Kathy Rose Signed [Report This]
Date: June 06, 2011 04:05 am Title: Chapter 5

LOL! Sovale is as wily as his counterpart on the series!

It does seem that things are moving very quickly, in so many areas. And you've woven together all the bits and pieces into a neat plot.

I'm very impressed by the amount of research you must have done to write this. All the details about weddings and the Inquisition add so much authenticity to your story. Keep it up!



Author's Response:

Sovale has a few aces up his sleeve...Kosso is NOT going to like what's coming.

I love this particular area of history --I lived in Italy for 5 years and visited Florence, Venice, Milan, Pisa and Rome. This era was so contradictory too, one of opulence, but it was pretty dangerous if you did the wrong thing. I find myself enjoying the research about as much as the writing! (They now have a display of Renaissance-period clothing at the Charlotte Mint Museum this month. Coincidence? ):-D

Reviewer: Mistress Euclid Signed [Report This]
Date: June 04, 2011 06:38 am Title: Chapter 5

You have my permission to write the most grisly fate you can think of for Kosso! But the person I am very worried about here is Estrella - such a difficult time to be an outsider! Love the medical scene. 



Author's Response:

Oh. Kosso will get what's coming to him. *evil wicked laugh*

And yes, Estrella is definitely an outsider in the established Renaissance Italy society. She has a unique perspective looking in from the outside, but she does have plenty of hardship because of it. It would've been harder for her if she hadn't ended up in the Archer/Hernandez household.

Reviewer: bluetiger Signed [Report This]
Date: June 04, 2011 05:47 am Title: Chapter 5

So, Kosso is blackmailing Archer. I hope he will pay dearly for choosing the wrong man to extort.

Malcolm and Estrella had such a lovely conversation. It is good that their feelings are now in the open. How clever of you to work Phlox's friend Dr. Lucas into this tale!

Social position not withstanding, Carlo and Paola need to be together. Lovely chapter.



Author's Response:

Yes, Kosso will find out that messing with Archer's family--and Sovale's--is NOT a smart thing to do.

Writing in Jeremy Lucas just happened naturally. (I needed another surgeon in the story.)

Will Carlo and Paola end up together? Spoilers!

Reviewer: Aquarius Signed [Report This]
Date: June 03, 2011 04:29 pm Title: Chapter 5

I really wonder what Eriana's plan is??? And Kosso just needs to bite it.



Author's Response:

Eriana's got something in mind for Kosso...and she's not alone in the planning.

Kosso will get what he deserves, don't worry.

Reviewer: Honeybee Signed [Report This]
Date: June 03, 2011 11:40 am Title: Chapter 5

Go Sovale. Nice to see he has a personal life here. Go Eriana! I can't wait to find out what her grand plan is, and how it will affect Sovale. And Estrella and Malcolm, what a beautiful scene! :) This is becoming one of my all time favorites.



Author's Response:

Eriana's got a few things in mind. Women had to orchestrate things behind the scenes, and many were just as wily, like Lucrezia Borgia and Beatrice d'Este (who married Ludovico d'Moro, a powerful duke of Milan). Eriana's cut from the same mold.

And Estrella and Malcolm...yeah, they're awesome together. :-D

Reviewer: Kathy Rose Signed [Report This]
Date: May 27, 2011 01:39 am Title: Chapter 4

Oh my gosh! Could you have possible ratcheted up the tension any more? This is fabulous, and I'm dying to read the next chapter.

I love how the characters are pairing off and learning about each other. And Estrella and Paola's conversation at the start of the chapter tickled me, as they both talked about the men they had just met.

I'm starting to worry more about Estrella now than Paola. The Inquisition was horrible, and if the Grand Inquisitor wants to question her...is it only Lady Erianna and Captain Archer's influence that has kept her safe so far?



Author's Response:

Estrella and Paola are just as besotted as Malcolm and Carlo are. XD

And yes...it's only Lady Erianna and Captain Archer's protection that has kept Estrella safe. It doesn't help that Eriana in this story is a cousin of Queen Isabella, who was a major proponent of the Spanish Inquisition. Once Eriana finds out what's happened to her handmaiden, she'll be more than upset.

Next chappie coming up soon!

Reviewer: Mistress Euclid Signed [Report This]
Date: May 26, 2011 09:14 am Title: Chapter 4

Ah, how wonderful! I adore the three main romances you've got going here, especially the lovely way that Jon and Eriana have settled into loving married life. I see Phlox and Natalie - but who is Arturo? I am puzzled!

But please, please keep more chapters coming. And soon!



Author's Response:

Arturo...hint, initials. :-D 

And thanks!

Reviewer: bluetiger Signed [Report This]
Date: May 25, 2011 03:43 pm Title: Chapter 4

This was just lovely. Carlo and Paola are simply charming together.

The street fight emphasizes what dangerous times these are. Estrella will have to be very careful, even with Malcolm's protection.

I hope we get more chapters soon.



Author's Response:

Yes...this period of time is romanticized quite a bit...but this was also a very dangerous time to live. The Inquisition was in full swing here.

And Carlo and Paola...they're charming, aren't they. <3 :-D

Reviewer: Honeybee Signed [Report This]
Date: May 25, 2011 12:19 pm Title: Chapter 4

Paola & Carlo are completely captivating in this chapter, and you can just feel how much they care for each other. They seem true to the period, yet we know who they are. Lady Natalia is going to be jealous!

And Estrella and Malcolm are having quite the adventure! Love the way you worked in Phlox, too. I can't wait for more.



Author's Response:

Yeah, but serves Natalia right. :-D

I was wondering how to get Phlox into the story...the only one of the main crew who hadn't made an appearance yet. Then I read a bit about the Borgias (though they came a little bit after this story is set) and the origin of the name, and it sparked an idea.

You must login (register) to review.