Reviews For Shield
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: paulinem Signed [Report This]
Date: April 16, 2011 05:45 pm Title: Chapter 1

OMG! Kathy Rose you gave me goosebumps! The ending, though I was expecting it on some level, still packed a punch. Excellent story!

Reviewer: Aquarius Signed [Report This]
Date: April 01, 2011 12:12 pm Title: Chapter 1

This was simply amazing! The naming of the characters and their functions in the story was brilliant. T'Pol as a Spartan woman was just genius. As much as I love Trip, I was so sorry for T'Pol at the end.

This is definitely one of those stories I will want to read multiple times.

I love it!

Author's Response:

Thank you, Aquarius. I appreciate your comments. :)

Reviewer: Mistress Euclid Signed [Report This]
Date: March 31, 2011 09:38 am Title: Chapter 1

Just a lovely vision of the past! I'm imagining Tapolika and Arcathon's life together, based on these wondering details. You really do capture the era here. Wonderful job.



Author's Response:

Thank you, Mistress Euclid. I'm glad you liked it.

Reviewer: Lady Rainbow Signed [Report This]
Date: March 30, 2011 01:46 pm Title: Chapter 1

Wow! That ending was unexpected, but...wow.

I can see Tapolika as a Spartan wife, and I like the contrast with Hosia, the Athenian wife. You paint a picture of their lives in such a short piece...and I love that the others also had cameos in the story too. 



Author's Response:

Thanks, Lady Rainbow. It seemed "logical" that a Spartan woman would have a lot of qualities in common with T'Pol, and after I found her voice, the other characters fell into place. :)

Reviewer: Hummingbird2 Signed [Report This]
Date: March 30, 2011 06:46 am Title: Chapter 1

That was absolutely fantastic, thank you!



Author's Response:

Thank you for reading it, Hummingbird2!

Reviewer: bluetiger Signed [Report This]
Date: March 29, 2011 08:31 pm Title: Chapter 1

This was very well done and an enjoyable story. T'Pol as a Spartan wife was perfect, so totally in character for her. All our beloved characters making an appearance was icing on the cake. A wonderfully crafted tale. I must admit to being glad that Triplois came home to Hosia.



Author's Response:

Thank you, bluetiger!

Reviewer: JiNX-01 Signed [Report This]
Date: March 29, 2011 06:44 pm Title: Chapter 1

Two thumbs up!

A wonderful story. I love how you played with the names of our beloved Enterprise characters ... Brilliant!

I've watched History channel programs about the ancients, etc. and you did a great job of researching your topic. The comparison of Sparta vs. Athens and the different expectations even of women and children.

A magnificent job!



Author's Response:

Thank you, JiNX-01! I'm glad you liked it. :)

I'll admit that when I first started doing research on the era, I had no idea how I was going to approach my assignment. Then I came across information about the differences between the lifestyles of the women of the two main city states. The Spartans seemed like the Vulcans -- not so much the war aspect, but they had high expectations and everyone was expected carry out their duties. I like to think that Tapolika is very much like T'Pol in that they both respect and admire their respective societies, but also are aware of the shortcomings.

Reviewer: Honeybee Signed [Report This]
Date: March 29, 2011 05:55 pm Title: Chapter 1

Wow! I totally salute you. This just has the feel of Ancient Greece, and the way you wove our heroes into that society was just beautiful and natural. I must admit to being shocked by the end, and yet it felt like a very appropriate way to end. You must have done massive research on this. Congratulations on a job well done! 



Author's Response:

Thank you very much, Honeybee. It's true I really sweated over this one, mainly because I was trying to maintain at least a semblance of historical accuracy. There's so much information about that era that I was swamped. That's one reason I decided to go with something that didn't focus entirely on an actual event. And once I came up with a premise for the story, putting characters (or in this case, their ancestors) into place wasn't too difficult, since Sparta had a hierarchy and Enterprise has command structure.

As for the ending, I think I was influenced by the fact that we all just rewatched The Andorian Incident not too long ago! T'Pol was pretty shook up when she was confronted with proof that Vulcans didn't always conform to what was expected or morally right, just as Tapolika was devastated by the death of someone who, by Spartan standards, should have had the best chance of surviving a battle.

You must login (register) to review.