You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: Dinah Signed [Report This]
Date: June 04, 2011 07:28 am Title: Chapter 8

This was a very satisfactory ending.  The timeline was restored and everyone had a relatively positive experience, including the folks from the Elizabethan period.  Even Malcolm, who was the one who became most attached to someone from the past, appeared to dealing pretty well with the situation.  The Renaissance song which was eerieily similar to a Vulcan melody was a nice touch.

The reaction of Lady Mary to catching a glimpse of the future very was a nice change of pace from the ususal response of fear and disbelief.  It's too bad she had no choice but to return to the life fate had in store for her.

Congratulations on an excellent story.



Author's Response:

Thank you so much for reading! I originally had Mary have the cliched reaction of fear and hysteria, and then I read that she was a patron of Dr. John Dee, and I thought that in her world, you probably saw things you didn't understand fairly often. She would probably be more open to the fantastical than a person of our era, so I had her keep her cool.

I'm so glad you read and enjoyed the story. It was fun to write, and I'm glad you had fun reading.

Reviewer: Dinah Signed [Report This]
Date: May 28, 2011 03:59 am Title: Chapter 7

Your method for hiding Phlox's alien features was perfectly reasonable, especially in the Elizabethan era.  The autopsy scene was very good not too much blood and gore.  I feel very sorry for Lady Dudley.  It doesn't sound like she had a very happy life.

I was glad to see that Trip and T'Pol both seemed to be perfectly content to continue to wear their rings.  Their relationship really does seem to have changed for the better.

I may be wrong, but I have a feeling that Malcolm may be the one most sorry to leave this time period.  That would be rather sad. 

Excellent chapter!



Author's Response:

Thanks! I'm not much for gore, so I wasn't going there. And yes, I think Malcolm is home here - around people with a culture that is safe to him. He may be out of time, but Mary is very much a familiar type to him. Sadly, she really did get smallpox while nursing Elizabeth I and was permanently disfigured by it, when she had been considered a great beauty and was a patron of the arts. She lived on, but she retired from public life. Again, I'm glad you are enjoying the story!

Reviewer: Dinah Signed [Report This]
Date: May 14, 2011 09:45 am Title: Chapter 6

I'll glad everyone's finally back together again.  It's interesting that Archer, Trip, Malcolm and even T'Pol are adapting pretty well to the earlier time period. 

I'm looking forward to the next chapter both to learn what Phlox has discovered and what Archer and the gang decide to do about the mess they're in.  That quartermaster had better be a miracle worker.  It's going to take some make-up job to allow the doctor to pass unnoticed.

 



Author's Response:

They get a little clever with Phlox! I hope you will approve of the solution there - and the one they use to restore the timeline, which is of course simpler than they would have ever dreamed! Thanks so much for reading. 

Reviewer: Dinah Signed [Report This]
Date: May 12, 2011 02:45 pm Title: Chapter 5

I like the way you've tied this into a real historical mystery.  At the same time, you've included a number of reference from the show -- such as losing a communicator, the Expanse, silk jammies, etc. -- to provide continuity.

You're doing a great job moving Trip and T'Pol's relationship forward.  It's interesting the Trip, the one who's generally the optimist, is preparing T'Pol for the eventuality that they may have to share the rest of their lives in the Elizabethan period.  I'm not sure heading to North American is exactly the best idea, however.

Very well done!



Author's Response:

TnT are totally gratuitous and not necessary to the main plot, except for complete shippy fun. I think Trip is just had it with everything and hit the wall with the optimism, sort of like the end of Shuttlepod One, and at least thinks the upside of being stuck will be getting her, just like in E2. I'm glad you noticed all the little details from the show I tried to work in, too! Thanks for reading.

Reviewer: Dinah Signed [Report This]
Date: May 10, 2011 01:08 pm Title: Chapter 4

You've created quite a dilemma here.  The captain's trying to woo Elizabeth to restore the timeline, but he has no idea that if he succeeds, it would lead to disaster.  Wow!

This story is wonderfully creative.  The period atmosphere is very believable as are the characters.  I especially like the adaptations the Trip, T'Pol and the others have made to make life in Elizabethan England more bearable.  Baths shouldn't have to be a luxury. 

I'm looking forward to reading the next chapters.  I've thoroughly enjoyed what I've read so far.  Congratulations!



Author's Response:

Thanks! I couldn't believe they wouldn't take at least some action to make things a little more comfortable for themselves, beginning with baths. I'm glad you are enjoying the story - and I hope that you continue to enjoy it. 

Reviewer: bluetiger Signed [Report This]
Date: April 25, 2011 01:44 am Title: Chapter 8

That was a very satisfactory ending. Even having to leave Lady Mary to her fate, the fact that she knew the truth was soothing. I think that knowing a great secret like that would have made her life richer and a bit more exciting. She handled it well and and probably took much pleasure in her memories of Malcolm.

It was also uplifting to know that Trip and T'Pol were invested enough in one another to begin the family introductions. How could the quirky Tucker clan not love T'Pol and we all know Trip managed to charm T'Les in short order.

A lovely history romp!

 



Author's Response:

I think Mary will take comfort in knowing a better future lies ahead, and she certainly raised her daughter to be an independent and ambitious person. And yes, since this was an AU, I decided to indulge the TnT ship and have them come together. Why not, right? Glad you enjoyed the story, thanks for reading. 

Reviewer: Kathy Rose Signed [Report This]
Date: April 25, 2011 01:25 am Title: Chapter 8

Brava! You really tied up a lot of loose ends in one chapter. Very well done, and a nifty reason for why the timeline hadn't been restored -- Elizabeth wasn't supposed to be involved with anyone but England at that moment in time! I find it ironic and amusing that Archer's little speech (after all the jokes about his antelope speech in the series) was what helped sway her to that decision.

Poor Lady Mary! She seems like a remarkable person in your story. No wonder Malcolm falls for her. And Trip and T'Pol acting as matchmakers to get Hoshi to be with him. Cute!

Overall, a very enjoyable story, Honeybee. I'm so glad you wrote it. Your attention to period-specific details really made this story authentic to the era, as well as the characters' attention to detail so they could fit in.



Author's Response:

Thanks so much! And yes, Lady Mary Sidney nee Dudley was a rather extraordinary person and one of only a handful of women Elizabeth I actually liked. She seems like the kind of woman Malcolm would pine for, too. But there's always Hoshi, right? And yes, Archer just needed to nudge her into the direction she was inclined to go, rather than pulling her in a different direction. So, it all works out in the end! Thanks for reading. 

Reviewer: bluetiger Signed [Report This]
Date: April 24, 2011 06:26 pm Title: Chapter 7

It is so nice to see Trip and T'Pol coming to a mature understanding of their relationship.I'm glad they have decided to stay together no matter what happens.

I realize the object is to restore the timeline but I feel sorry for Lady Mary. One wants Phlox to relent and inoculate her. Malcolm seems so taken with her.



Author's Response:

Thanks! I figured since it was my version of "Storm Front", I could go whole hog with the shippy stuff. And yes, it is sad about Lady Mary and the timeline, and Malcolm is once again pining for what he cannot have. Thanks for reading! 

Reviewer: Kathy Rose Signed [Report This]
Date: April 24, 2011 11:15 am Title: Chapter 7

Interesting twist with Lady Mary. I can't wait to see how they handle this.

That was a plausible explanation for Lady Dudley's death. But I'm wondering what you will come up with for them to restore the timeline. With the search for the "mythical killer" now not needed, what else could there be?



Author's Response:

Now it's just a matter of getting Elizabeth NOT to marry and have a child, with Dudley or Archer or anyone. That part might be simpler than you think! Thanks for reading and enjoying! 

Reviewer: Kathy Rose Signed [Report This]
Date: April 23, 2011 11:32 am Title: Chapter 6

I'm glad they finally found each other. Now maybe they can make more headway on finding out why the timeline hasn't been restored.

It's probably a good thing Malcolm's not there when Trip and T'Pol tell the captain what he did to change history. *snerk*

Great pacing in the story, Honeybee. It's moving along well, but not so fast that we miss all the interesting details you've put in.



Author's Response:

Thanks! I'm glad you are enjoying the little details, which were such good fun to research.

Reviewer: panyasan Signed [Report This]
Date: April 22, 2011 08:34 pm Title: Chapter 5

I really enjoyed all the historical details in your chapters. The scene when T''Pol plays the flute was great and I love the TnT interaction in this chapter. This is such an fascinating time and your writing shows it.



Author's Response:

Thanks! It was fun to research it and write in a bunch of little cameos for historical figures of the time. And the TnT plotline was very enjoyable to write, so I am glad it was enjoyable to read.

Reviewer: Kathy Rose Signed [Report This]
Date: April 22, 2011 06:51 am Title: Chapter 5

The plot thickens! Your use of contradictions -- the differences between the crew's time and this era -- is very effective, such as having Malcolm eat cereal, and casually pointing out that it wasn't available and had to be brought down from the ship.

I do question the viability of letting the other crew members return to the ship at night -- what if someone came unexpectedly in the evening and found Trip & T'Pol without any servants? But it is convenient to what Trip and T'Pol do during the storm. Nice imagery there.

Archer has to be one lucky guy -- a couple of times in his conversation with Elizabeth he almost blows it, but manages to recover. He sure has figured out what to say to her to keep her happy.

As always, the historical tidbits really make this story, such as how people viewed suicide. Nicely done, and it weaves into the plot very well.

Ready for the next chapter!



Author's Response:

Yes, I thought about keeping the servants just elsewhere in the house while TnT get romantic, but I decided that the ship would have a tremendous pull on the crew, so that's what I did. And I agree it was a risk. In an early draft, I didn't write in servants at all, but that would have been totally implausible. Monied gentry such as who TnT are pretending to be, would not travel anywhere without servants. And all Archer's alien diplomacy has just barely trained him to deal with one very moody queen! Next chapter forthcoming! Thanks for reading. 

Reviewer: Kathy Rose Signed [Report This]
Date: April 22, 2011 02:07 am Title: Chapter 4

This keeps getting more and more interesting. You have done a great job inserting the characters into this time period, with all the little details of the era. I can only imagine the amount of research you had to do.

Eagerly awaiting the next chapter.

 



Author's Response:

I did a lot of research, but thankfully there is scads of information on Elizabethan daily life and protocol online. So that helped. Thanks for reading. 

Reviewer: Kathy Rose Signed [Report This]
Date: April 22, 2011 01:55 am Title: Chapter 3

Again, wonderfully written! There is a certain charm to this era, despite all the political goings-on, and it comes through very well in your story. Although I do wonder if T'Pol playing a Vulcan tune will have an effect and change something!

Trip kissing T'Pol's hand, and her reaction was priceless!

Archer training the queens dogs! LOL! I do feel for him, though, being stuck with Silik. Archer's frustration comes through loud and clear.



Author's Response:

Elizabeth I would say to her counselors "my dogs wear my collars" and she wasn't talking about her little dogs, who were ill behaved. So, I was totally amused by Archer winning her over with his dog training skills! As for the tune, you'll have to wait and see!

Reviewer: Kathy Rose Signed [Report This]
Date: April 22, 2011 01:42 am Title: Chapter 2

Bwa-ha-ha-ha! I love the reactions of Trip, T'Pol and Malcolm when they realize that Archer may have fathered a child with the queen! This looks like it might turn out to be a grand romp -- in more ways than one.

Can't wait to see how this develops. Archer staying close to the queen to see if he can find out what's preventing restoring the timeline, and T'Pol's group finding one possible place that is causing it and trying to remedy it.

You've done an excellent job with descriptions of clothing. And it tickles me that you decided to make Malcolm masquerade as a Protestant minister!

I had forgotten that they used Latin at that time!



Author's Response:

Most of Elizabeth I's security forces were devout protestants, some of them ministers, so it was a natural choice to have Malcolm dressed as a proto-Puritan. And Elizabeth I liked to do Latin translations for amusement, sort of like her version of crossword puzzles. Glad you are enjoying the story. Thanks. 

Reviewer: Aquarius Signed [Report This]
Date: April 20, 2011 04:10 pm Title: Chapter 1

One of the coolest things about this piece is the use of smell. It's said that the sense of smell is the most powerful when it comes to triggering memories, so I also believe it's just as powerful of a tool when it comes to helping your reader to imagine tihngs. Not that I necessarily *wanted* to smell Merrie Olde England, not that way LOL, but you get the drift. It's an effective authorial device especially for the time period you've chosen.



Author's Response:

Thanks! I thought a lot about Sleeping Dogs when I was writing this, and the fact that humans used to being on a climate controlled ship would probably be very sensitive to the smells of this era. 

Reviewer: JiNX-01 Signed [Report This]
Date: April 18, 2011 04:34 pm Title: Chapter 3

Please please please... hurry up with the next chapter!



Author's Response:

Thanks! Glad you are enjoying. They should come soon at this point. :) 

Reviewer: JiNX-01 Signed [Report This]
Date: April 18, 2011 12:00 pm Title: Chapter 1

Awesome! I can't believe the ways that people are plucking our intrepid crew out their proper timeline and WAY! out of their element. It's wonderful to see the creative inspiration that get these characters where we want to take them.

Since the queen is safe and sound and Enterprise didn't get to go home, I can't wait to see the fix you're going to put them in next. :-)



Author's Response:

Thanks! I'm glad you are enjoying, and yes, they are way, way out of their element here. Except for Malcolm. Who turns out to be right in his element, funny clothes not withstanding. ;) 

Reviewer: bluetiger Signed [Report This]
Date: April 09, 2011 11:45 am Title: Chapter 1

A very interesting beginning. That is a fascinating period and I am eager for the others to go down and get involved. I expect that T'Pol will be most beautiful in clothes of that period. I eagerly await more.



Author's Response:

Thank you! I did a lot of research on clothing, and I discovered that the French Hood which would have covered T'Pol's ears was out of fashion by this point, so she'll need hair extensions. But yes, she'll get to play dress up! More is coming soon. Thanks for reading. 

Reviewer: Kathy Rose Signed [Report This]
Date: March 26, 2011 11:13 pm Title: Chapter 1

Oh, wow! What a great beginning, Honeybee! You've definitely made me curious as to what will happen next, especially since the timeline apparently was supposed to be restored when Archer and Silik prevented the assassination of Elizabeth I.

It's obvious you've done your research, which makes the story feel very authentic to the time period. The descriptions of the clothing, along with the little tidbits like Archer not stepping on the carpet. Loved it! Can't wait for more.



Author's Response:

Thanks so much! I just wound up embracing the fact that with every breath and every step, our heroes are going to have to think about protocol and how different everyone's worldview is in this time. It's been fun to write that into the story. The next chapter should be up, soon.

Reviewer: Lady Rainbow Signed [Report This]
Date: March 11, 2011 07:13 am Title: Chapter 1

Archer...and Walsingham! (Yes, he was the equivalent of Malcolm for Elizabeth)

I'm looking forward to the next chappies of this epic. :-D



Author's Response:

Glad you like! The next chapter will be up soon. Eventually, Walsingham and Malcolm will have to meet! 

Reviewer: Just a Crazy-Man Signed [Report This]
Date: March 07, 2011 02:21 am Title: Chapter 1

LOL...



Author's Response:

Thanks! :)

Reviewer: panyasan Signed [Report This]
Date: March 06, 2011 03:17 am Title: Chapter 1

You know, I didn't like Storm Front very much, but your story: I loved it! What a great idea. Nice little detail about that time and clever explaining why the killing of Elizabeth would made such an impact on history. Elizabeth herself is one of the most interesting queens.. so I eagerly looking forward to the  next chapter. I like the interaction beween Silik and Archer and the observation of Archer of Elizabeth. And did I detect a very small TnT moment? Great story.



Author's Response:

Thanks! It is a fascinating time, and Elizabeth I had an almost inexpressible impact on the history of the world. So, it's an ideal time to play with the timeline. And yes, TnT will most certainly be a part of this story, and I'm glad you caught the small moment.

Reviewer: paulinem Signed [Report This]
Date: March 05, 2011 03:30 pm Title: Chapter 1

Excellent start, Honeybee! I'm looking forward to this adventure!



Author's Response:

Thanks! I hope I won't disappoint. I'm hoping it will be a fun ride. 

Reviewer: Alelou Signed [Report This]
Date: March 05, 2011 06:23 am Title: Chapter 1

Intriguing!  And I'm with Archer.  As much as I enjoyed reading about the Tudors in my youth, as a temporal destination that era strikes me as hell on Earth, too.



Author's Response:

Yeah! That was my response too! Enlightened future humans were not going to adjust well to the realities of the era, but at least Archer has spent some time in a Klingon prison - so we know he can handle it! Thanks for reading.

You must login (register) to review.