Reviews For A Sad Refrain
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: jespah Signed [Report This]
Date: November 01, 2012 01:25 pm Title: A Sad Refrain

I enjoyed this quite a bit.

One thing that has always struck me about Malcolm is that his relationships (such as they are) seem to be either with ones who are thoroughly inappropriate for him or he pines for someone he cannot have. The notes during Shuttlepod One seem to bear that out, and the mentioning of a few rolls in the hay with Ruby - it all seems to point to someone who is terrified of getting close to anyone. And that's not just in intimate relationships, but in all of them.

I think there's also something about Malcolm that begs the question of a connection to some form of art. Certainly more so than with the other six main canon characters (I write him as a sonneteer).

Reviewer: kayjayuu Signed [Report This]
Date: September 16, 2012 02:34 pm Title: A Sad Refrain

I must apologize, I've been out of it for a while... I could have sworn I'd left you a review!

This story is a very in-depth view into what I see here as a pre-slash friendship between Archer and Reed. I can't really think that after five years of serving together under such circumstances as we got to see for four, that there would not have been a level of personal conversations between them. This Archer and Reed obviously have an understanding of each other more than just Captain and Lieutenant, CO and Armory Officer. That Archer here can feel comfortable enough to ask about Reed's family as Reed himself is offering so much private information show's me their relationship has become one of even deeper trust than we saw in the show. I mean, once one has apparently "used the bahthroom" in one's EV suit in front of one's commanding officer, who has sworn he'd never tell... that breaks a few barriers. XD

Of course, Malcolm still has issues with "sir" and "Jon", so that's the boundary set at this moment in time. Both of them are bringing him over gradually enough. :)

The writing is lyrical and flows nicely, just like the music. What a unique take on this pairing -- I'd love to know your inspiration!

Thank you so much for more Archer/Reed, and apologies for the late review!

Reviewer: Eireann Signed [Report This]
Date: September 15, 2012 05:19 pm Title: A Sad Refrain

This was, indeed, a beautifully written and intriguing story.  I have to say that for me, personally, there were a few moments that jarred slightly - I have a problem with Malcolm coming this far out of his shell with Jonathan, even after they've known each other for five years.  But the idea of his playing a viola is wholly delightful and entirely plausible.  Your writing draws the picture of him doing so with great sensitivity, and it was a delight to encounter this possibility that I don't think anyone else I've ever read has raised.

Full marks for ingenuity and creativity.  Well done!



Author's Response:

I'm glad you enjoyed the concept, I had a lot of fun with Malcolm and Mnemosyne. Malcolm coming out of his shell in strange and unexpected ways is really what this series is all about, especially using his music to forge greater closeness with Jonathan, but I did try to play it down a little - some harmless anecdotes and lowering his guard - I felt he came more out of his shell in Minefield! Thank you for your review, I love knowing people enjoy my work!

Reviewer: Aquarius Signed [Report This]
Date: May 20, 2012 05:10 pm Title: A Sad Refrain

I can't believe I haven't reviewed this yet! Sorry about that!

This is just as amazing on a second read as it was the first time around. I love Malcolm playing the viola. I love that after all this time, he still has his secrets. There is something so very right about that. Fabulous piece of fan literature.



Author's Response:

I'm such a Late Latey McLaterson but thank you for your review! I really appreciate it and I'm so glad it was worth a second look, too.

Reviewer: Glory1863 Signed [Report This]
Date: November 06, 2011 09:08 pm Title: A Sad Refrain

Every time I read this, I am reminded of Sherlock Holmes and Dr. Watson.  There is more than a touch of melancholy to the atmosphere, perfect for Victorian gaslight.  Proud, lonely, brilliant Malcolm playing his viola when he needs to think or wants to relax, like Holmes and his violin.  Archer is a smart man, but he'll always be surprised by Malcolm.  There will always be a part of him that he won't know.  And yet they belong together. Very nicely done.



Author's Response:

This is a truly exquisite thought and I'm rather inspired by the idea of that parallel, though I'd not thought of it before, too stuck on pursuing thoughts of Aubrey and Maturin. Maybe when I write further scenes I will keep this in mind. I'm so glad you enjoy my work and I really value your observations on my characters. Thank you for your beautiful review.

Reviewer: asearcher Signed [Report This]
Date: September 03, 2011 04:05 pm Title: A Sad Refrain

I love this story.  Malcolm playing the viola.  How absolutely right...and Jon's appreciation of both the music and the man.

Bravo!

Reviewer: Honeybee Signed [Report This]
Date: March 04, 2011 08:32 am Title: A Sad Refrain

This is such a beautiful, quiet story even though it is about music as a way of conveying buried feelings. It's just very touching, and the moment here feels real and authentic to the characters, as well as very intimate. The thought and care you put into it is evident. Outstanding job. 



Author's Response:

I'm glad you thought it was quiet, the element of quietness and secludedness - almost sacredness, was as key as the music. Your review means a lot to me, thank you.

Reviewer: Mareel Signed [Report This]
Date: March 03, 2011 11:19 pm Title: A Sad Refrain

I loved reading this; it's so beautiful. I love watching Malcolm allowing Jon a glimpse into his inner self, and it makes so much sense to me that Malcolm would be a musician. It's captures so well the way he was so transformed in making the music.

And his choice of instrument (though not his first) suits him well. Malcolm is so sensual, and an instrument that allows body contact, that lets him literally feel the music would contribute to the feeling of freedom and release he finds when he plays, especially since he has so few other outlets.

And I really like the give and take between the two of them at this early stage of what Jon clearly hopes will become more than friendship. Getting Malcolm to call him Jon is a huge step; I hope their breakfast goes well for them both.

Thank you so much for sharing this.

You must login (register) to review.