Reviews For Sim Series
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: tishkajaku Signed [Report This]
Date: October 07, 2011 08:57 pm Title: Broken Gods

I have read your SNW one, however did not know it was yours. i will reread and comment later.

As for this one, it is a most beautiful rendering of what Phlox and Archer had to endure to complete their respective missions for the greater good. But at what a tremendous cost.

You have given us a perfect look into their torment during this very tragic, very wrenching decision, and deepened the emotional impact of Similitude. yes, Broken Gods indeed, and not to be envied. Excellent!

Reviewer: Brandyjane Signed [Report This]
Date: July 20, 2011 07:44 am Title: Preview of Coming Attraction

The part where Sim thanks him for being a good dad is so bittersweet, since we know how it's all going to turn out.

I love the stuff with Phlox's bat. Poor thing!



Author's Response:

Phlox was in such a complicated position, being father to someone who would only live fifteen days--but if anyone could do a good job, I think it would be Phlox. :)

Thanks for reading and commenting!

Reviewer: Honeybee Signed [Report This]
Date: July 13, 2011 04:54 pm Title: Broken Gods

This is just wonderful. One of my favorite stories of all time! Thank you for posting it. *wipes tears away*



Author's Response:

You know how there are some stories you write that just grab you by the heart and never let go? "Broken Gods" is one of those stories for me. I am so emotionally attached to it. I started it because I love Sim, and by the time I finished it, I was totally in love with Phlox and Archer too.

Thank you so much for your comments.

Reviewer: Aquarius Signed [Report This]
Date: July 11, 2011 06:34 pm Title: Overload

I'm glad to see Phlox's perspective on this, but it's sad to see him powerless to help Sim. This is such a great episode, It's good to see it fleshed out even more. Thank you.

 



Author's Response:

Sometimes all a parent can do is listen, and wish that he could make all the hurt go away.

Looking at "Similitude" from Phlox's perspective gave me an entirely new view, even more poignant and tragic than what we got on the show--but with the saving grace of knowing that Sim had Phlox to help him deal with it.

Thanks for reading.

Reviewer: Aquarius Signed [Report This]
Date: July 11, 2011 06:26 pm Title: Popcorn

This captures crushes so well. The least little bet of contact with your crush can send you over the moon...even something as innocuous as "Pass the salt," or "Why yes, I would like some popcorn." And Phlox playing Cupid is awesome.



Author's Response:

I got some pushback on the Phlox-as-matchmaker angle when I first posted this story - "He's so cruel, setting up something that can never be!" But that wasn't the point. With the undercurrent of tragedy running through the whole story, I could easily see Phlox doing what he could to give Sim some happiness, no matter how fleeting.

Reviewer: Honeybee Signed [Report This]
Date: July 11, 2011 07:33 am Title: Popcorn

This story has a special place in my heart, since I used to love watching Marx Brothrers films with my dad. They aired in a marathon ever New Year's. I just love this sequence, how everyone cares so much for Sim, despite the strangeness of the situation. Great job.



Author's Response:

I loved the film choices on the show. Frankenstein, Marx Brothers, The Court Jester (my favorite Danny Kaye film). And the way Phlox delighted in watching these Earth movies was such fun.

Reviewer: Honeybee Signed [Report This]
Date: July 11, 2011 06:07 am Title: Preview of Coming Attraction

I love to see how wise and fatherly Phlox is here, and you've nailed Sim as a character very well. Thanks for a great scene addition to my favorite episode of the series! 



Author's Response:

My pleasure. :) Thanks for reading.

Reviewer: Aquarius Signed [Report This]
Date: July 10, 2011 08:25 pm Title: Preview of Coming Attraction

Wow. In the ep, you just knew there had to be a "How do I know if a girl likes me?" conversation at some point. And this would've fit in seamlessly. Great work!



Author's Response:

Thank you! We only saw teenage Sim for one scene, but this was such a pivotal moment for him, and it raised all sorts of questions in my mind. Telling it from Phlox's point of view seemed like a fun notion, but it became so much more for me. I wish we'd seen more of the father/son interaction between him and Sim. That would have made a whole story by itself!

No results found.
You must login (register) to review.