Reviews For From The Depths
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: Aquarius Signed [Report This]
Date: May 19, 2012 02:57 am Title: Chapter 5

I like that this is left open for a sequel. I'm dying to know what that data was! It will also be good for Malcolm to get a resolution. Great story! I'm just sorry it took me so long to read.



Author's Response:

That's quite all right. I'm sorry it's taken me so long to respond to your reviews. :) And yes, I deliberately left this open for a sequel. I've got many bits and pieces of one in my head, as well as several different versions of the same notion, but nothing yet to tie it together so nicely as this one was. Mayeb re-reading it will inspire me again. 

Thank you again for the reviews!

Reviewer: Aquarius Signed [Report This]
Date: May 19, 2012 02:46 am Title: Chapter 4

I think that was one of the most tense rescues I've ever read! And what a painful confession for Malcolm -- ouch! Poor guy.



Author's Response:

Thank you! For some reason this was the hardest chapter to write, perhaps because of all that tension. I really wanted his confession to carry a sense of burdens he placed on himself because of his character and his sense of honor, duty and loyalty. 

Reviewer: Aquarius Signed [Report This]
Date: May 19, 2012 02:36 am Title: Chapter 3

I'm glad to finally be able to catch up on this story after being so busy. What a cliffhanger! And the T'Pol hallucination was hilarous.



Author's Response:

I just now saw this! What a treat to get another review, thank you. :) It's prompted me to re-read my own story, lol.

Reviewer: tishkajaku Signed [Report This]
Date: November 17, 2011 01:04 am Title: Chapter 5

Author's perogative...who knows, maybe Trip has a filtering device on his screen that realigns his features back to normal...along the line of Hoshi's communicator device changing languages as they are spoken. just an idea.

Anyway, this is such a sweet, sweet story.....especially since Malcolm has always been so solitary. No wonder he is drawn to Trip, who everyone loves.

I am looking forward to Trip being back as well.....our Enterprise needs him.

Tish



Author's Response:

Thank you for the lovely reviews on every chapter! I really appreciate that and I'm so happy you liked this. Now I just need to get the two of them together.  

Reviewer: tishkajaku Signed [Report This]
Date: November 17, 2011 12:43 am Title: Chapter 4

Excellent added story for The Good That Men Do....so poignant and moving, Malcolm's lost heart. No wonder Trip came to him when he was so alone. I love this story!  Tish



Author's Response:

"Malcolm's lost heart ..." I love that as a description of Malcolm in this situation. Thank you.

Reviewer: tishkajaku Signed [Report This]
Date: November 17, 2011 12:20 am Title: Chapter 3

I am soooo glad you told us the end is near, since you are so very good at building up the suspense!

Makes sense for Malcolm to bring Trip on board the Shuttlepod, to help him through this crisis, even if it's a hallucination. Good idea!

 



Author's Response:

Thank you! I didn't think it could end up being very suspensful, since the basics of the plotline is borrowed from Stargate Atlantis. (If you've seen the episode you end up knowing what's coming as far as the events are concerned.) I do hope Malcolm's own personal struggle was susprising. 

Reviewer: bluetiger Signed [Report This]
Date: November 02, 2011 08:44 pm Title: Chapter 5

You did a wonderful job with this. I'm glad the image of Trip was there to see Malcolm through this. I loved the whole thing because you really managed to put your own spin on this story but the last chapter was the icing on the cake. You handled Malcolm's feeling for Trip in a heartbreaking but emotionaly mature manner. I really enjoyed the respect that Malcolm showed for T'Pol by giving her the heads-up. I do hope you continue this. I would love to see Trip and Malcolm come together. In your hands I am sure they would make a loving couple. Very well done!



Author's Response:

I'm so pleased you said that "heartbreaking but emotionally mature manner". That's exactly what I was trying so hard to do in that last chapter. And like I said in another repsonse, even if this was an angsty story, I wanted a happy ending and it didn't seem like a happy ending unless Malcolm got to talk to the real Trip.

I'm glad you mentioned the head's-up to T'Pol. It always seemed to me that Trip's best freind and the woman he fell in love with were exactly the same - just that one was male and one was female. Both Malcolm and T'Pol are bound by traditions, but both broke free of them and struggle with the consequences of that. Both of them are emotionally reserved, but can exhibit deep and intense feeling. Both seem to have a touch of self-doubt. Both had a deep need to mend things with a parental figure. Both are a little mysterious and worked undercover at some point. Etc.! It just seemed right that Malcolm would have a deep respect for T'Pol. Kindred spirits.

I'll get the boys together in my next fic and eventually T'Pol will be along for the ride. :)

Thanks for the review!

Reviewer: Honeybee Signed [Report This]
Date: November 02, 2011 07:37 pm Title: Chapter 5

I am sooo glad our boys got to speak! A great, realistic ending! Terrific work. I really enjoy how in character both Malcolm and Trip.



Author's Response:

Thank you again! Though I knew the encounter was still going to be somewhat heartbreaking, it didn't feel like a happy ending unless Malcolm actually got to talk to Trip and I wanted a happy ending of some sort, even if this was a prety angsty story.

This was fun to write and I think I've even got an idea for how to get Trip out of his situation, get our boys together and then, my final step, create the triad I want to see!

Reviewer: Honeybee Signed [Report This]
Date: November 02, 2011 07:36 pm Title: Chapter 4

This is such a tense chapter! I actually had a hard time reading it, because you make me feel his jeopardy and desperation. Great work!



Author's Response:

Yoda voice: "Yes, the angst is strong in this one." :) I found myself a bit wound up while I was writing this chapter! In truth, this one chapter took so very long to get just right. Every sentance was like pulling teeth, trying to get that feeling of desperation and then honesty with one's self wihtout losing the pace of the action too.

Thanks for the review. It pleases me to know it had such an effect. :)

Reviewer: crystalswolf Signed [Report This]
Date: November 02, 2011 07:20 pm Title: Chapter 5

I do love this Star Trek take on the SGA ep. I especially love this 5th chapter. During the original ep, this scene had me on edge, and I loved the emotional departure with Trip standing there.

Your version lost nothing, and in fact, it felt like it added more dimension to it because of the layers of their friendship, Reed's hidden feelings, and T'Pol as his competition.



Author's Response:

I remember the end of that SGA epsiode, with that sea creature swiming up over the shielding and the two ships - it gave me the shivers! I thought about including an alien life form like that in this story, but in the end I thought Malcolm had enough inner turmoil to deal with that he didn't need another external problem.

Thank you so much for the lovely review! Eventually I'd like to work out a triad, but for now Malcolm's only in love with Trip, and fond enough of T'Pol to be holding all this in.

Reviewer: Lady Rainbow Signed [Report This]
Date: September 12, 2011 01:36 pm Title: Chapter 1

I think that episode of SGA really fits Malcolm,but Malcolm seems a lot more 'with it' than McKay was! :-p And how his mind conjures up Trip to help with his thought processes is awesome. Poor whumped Malcolm!

Looking forward to the next chappie!



Author's Response:

I thought so too, Lady Rainbow. Malcolm's much more stoic than perpetually wound-up Rodney!

Reviewer: tishkajaku Signed [Report This]
Date: September 04, 2011 09:32 pm Title: Chapter 2

YES! Malcolm needs Trip and as I mentioned, being in that shuttlepod, makes perfect sense. Plus all the engineering needs to be met.

i am looking forward to the next chapter.....we must get Malcolm OUT of that water!



Author's Response:

Yes! We must, but how ... :-D

Reviewer: tishkajaku Signed [Report This]
Date: September 04, 2011 09:23 pm Title: Chapter 1

Wow, S69, this is a great view into Malcolm's mind, tying in his loyalty, frustrations, regrets and fears with his Enterprise family. The fact that he is in Shuttlepod One, withut Trip this time, and in trouble, near an ocean no less, our Malcolm will need to draw on his stoic inner strength. Great episode!



Author's Response:

I'm glad you thought so. I really wanted to get into Malcolm's head for this one since I thought that the officer of this time, with two wars (Xindi and the ongoing Romulan one) and so many years of service behind him, might be a little more worn, but assured, a little wiser based on having had experience with X, Y and Z situations before but also more emotionally (and thus vunerably) attached to his Enterprise family.

Reviewer: Mistress Euclid Signed [Report This]
Date: September 04, 2011 07:32 pm Title: Chapter 2

Oh, my! Just very sorrowful. Malcolm's need for Trip, on many levels, is apparent here. Excellent work!



Author's Response:

I'm so pleased you think so! I know this story is angst, but I didn't want to turn up the dial to maudlin or, for that matter, diminish it too much out of concern that it wouldn't be happy or sastifying enough. 

Reviewer: Mistress Euclid Signed [Report This]
Date: September 04, 2011 07:31 pm Title: Chapter 1

Poor Malcolm! Very suspenseful stuff here. Great beginning.



Author's Response:

Thank you Mistress E! I can't claim all the credit for the suspense of the plotline, since the original SGA episode it's based on is fantastic by itself, but I hope I've made this version uniquely Malcolm's and very Enterprise.

Reviewer: Aquarius Signed [Report This]
Date: September 02, 2011 07:19 pm Title: Chapter 2

I love this. Poor Malcolm. It's like the Ghost of Christmas Trip or something LOL. And the underwear starting to materialize...*fans self*



Author's Response:

Bwahahaha! "The Ghost of Christmas Trip", I love that! I was trying to make Hallucination!Trip a little "off" - not exactly out-of-character, but a little less animated than the real Trip would be - and more obviously a figment of Malcolm's imagination for the reader, so that desction fits rather well.

I've decided that's the superpower I want to have: to be able to just think the clothing away. >:-)

 

 

Reviewer: bluetiger Signed [Report This]
Date: September 01, 2011 08:49 pm Title: Chapter 2

That was one of my favorite episodes of Stargate Atlantis. I love your concept of Malcolm cojuring up what he needs to stay calm in this emergency. I am really enjoying this and hope you can add to it soon.



Author's Response:

It was one of my favorite episodes too and it seemed like such a natural fit for Malcolm. Next chapter coming up soon!

Reviewer: Honeybee Signed [Report This]
Date: September 01, 2011 07:54 pm Title: Chapter 2

I so feel for Malcolm here. His mind conjuring the person he most wants to see - it's heartbreaking. I can't wait for the next chapter!



Author's Response:

Thanks again! It's about to get worse for poor Malcolm before it gets any better.

Reviewer: Aquarius Signed [Report This]
Date: July 21, 2011 10:23 pm Title: Chapter 1

OMG! What a great beginning. It's about time we get the Tucker/Reed thing cooking here. Please don't wait too long for another chapter! Poor Malcolm! Poor us!!

Author's Response:

Thank you so much! Poor Malcolm indeed. It's about to get much worse. :) Chapter three is almost done, so I promise not to make everyone wait for the rest of the story too long.

Reviewer: Honeybee Signed [Report This]
Date: July 12, 2011 05:35 pm Title: Chapter 1

An exciting start! So glad you posted this here. I can't wait for Trip and Malcolm to be reunited.



Author's Response:

Whoops, looks I didn't set my preferences to get email notices of my reviews. I was suprised to find some here! Thank you so much for the encouragement. Now that I have two chapters out there, I'm eager too! :)

You must login (register) to review.